Keep Her Safe

Keep Her Safe

Keep Her Safe by Richard Jay Parker

3.75 stars rounded up🌟🌟🌟.75

Blurb

How far would you go to protect your child?

Maggie’s daughter Penny is her whole world… and she’d do anything to protect her. So when Maggie wakes one night to find a strange woman in her home, she runs to lock herself in her bedroom with her child. But Maggie knows why she’s come…

Someone has been targeting mothers and offering them a choice: do as he says or their child disappears. This stranger in her home has until dawn to follow his orders… but Maggie too has the ‘choice’ to make. Can she put the pieces together to stop the cycle before her time is up?

An edge-of-your-seat thriller that will keep you guessing until the last page. Perfect for fans of Adam Croft and Tess Gerritsen.

Review

What would you do to save your child’s life? Could you take the life of another person? Would you be able to leave another person’s child motherless? These are the questions brought up by this book…. questions I myself as a pretty ferocious mother have no idea what the answers are to…. I just hope I am never put in the position to need to answer any of these questions, that is for sure!

The first half of this book was seriously intense…. Holly has been sent by a man calling himself “the babysitter“ to kill Maggie in order to save the life of her daughter Abigail…. Maggie understands the desire for a mother to protect her child all too well, because she was just recently put in the same situation in order to save her daughter Penny…..

This is a definite plot driven story…. and in the beginning I felt as though I was in the house with Maggie and Holly… and I had no idea what either woman was going to do… and no idea what the right thing to do was…. then at about 60% this book took a very odd turn out of nowhere…. and while I still found Maggie and Hollys situation quite compelling… the rest of it was just a little out of place for me….

I would have really liked Holly and Maggie’s characters to have been better developed…. you really didn’t know much about them… other than the fact that they were mothers… there were little tidbits of backstory but not enough to sink your teeth into…. it also would have been interesting to have had the POV of “the babysitter“…. perhaps if I had been more invested in these characters the plot turn would not have been so jarring….

I would absolutely read another book from this author… the first half was really one of the more intense books I have read lately, unfortunately the last half of this book just fell a little short for me….

*** i’d like to thank Net Galley and the publisher for a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review ***

Enjoy,

Berit

Kindle

3 thoughts on “Keep Her Safe

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s