The Undercover Mother by Emma Robinson ~ #bookreview @emmarobinsonuk @Bookouture

Undercover Mother

Coming to Your Shelves on March 20, 2018

The Undercover Mother by Emma Robinson

4.25 Spice Mom Stars 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟.25

Synopsis

Have you ever wondered what secrets other mothers are keeping? 

Jenny has too much on her plate: literally – she’s only pregnant with one child but she’s already eating for three. Not to mention trying to juggle her future life with a baby, a nightmare boss, a know-it-all sister, and a bizarrely laid back husband. 

She used to be famous for her ‘Single Girl About Town’ journalism. But not only is she bored of parties, she also hasn’t been single for years, and is now 8½ months pregnant.

So when her boss hands her column to a younger colleague, Jenny panics and proposes instead writing about being a clueless new mum. Surely people will find her new friendship group fascinating? Even if the only thing they have in common is that they all had sex around the same time 9 months ago…

Like – what’s the deal with scary Gail’s mystery husband? How is posh mum Antonia already out drinking when Jenny can barely make a cup of tea? Why isn’t sweet-natured Ruth answering any phone calls?

And if her readers aren’t quite hooked yet, maybe Jenny will just have to be more liberal with the truth. After all, none of the other mums will read it… will they? 

The Undercover Mother is a feel-good parenting page turner that will make you laugh, cry and recognize every moment. Perfect for fans of Why Mummy Drinks and The Bad Mother’s Diary.

Review

This book sure did bring back memories…. sleepless nights, crying babies, spit up, changing diaper after diaper after diaper…. first smiles, the smell of baby Hair, baby laughs, and the first time somebody calls you Mom…. they were the best days, the worst days, the busiest days, and the loneliest days of my life….. I sure would have loved a group of women like the Spice Moms in my life at that time…

Jenny is like most of us when we are pregnant for the first time convinced she’s got it all figured out… I mean how hard can it really be? After her boss informs her she will no longer be writing the single girl column she has been writing for the past several years… she comes up with an idea of starting a mommy blog with hopes of it eventually becoming A regular article in the magazine…. first assignment prenatal class (this has an entirely different name apparently in the UK)

While at prenatal class Jenny meets four other women from very different backgrounds with very different circumstances…. The women bond over there pregnancies and stay in touch after their babies are born…. and unbeknownst to them they become the subjects of Jenny’s mommy blog….

All the women were likable and relatable…. they were all flawed and approached motherhood differently…. and that’s what made this so real there was a little piece of each of them that I could relate to… I think I related to Jenny more than any of them…. but I did see a bit of my young mommy self in all of them…. this book wasn’t all diaper changes and breast-feeding…. there are also some laugh out loud moments…. sweet and sad tear inducing moments…. and some major drama and secrets revealed….. let’s be honest if there is a group of five women there’s going to be drama!

Strongly recommend as a fun fluffy read to anyone who is a mom, is going to be a mom, has a mom, knows somebody that is a mom, or just likes fun reads….

*** thank you to the publisher and Net Galley for a copy of this book ***

Enjoy the drama,

Berit

2 thoughts on “The Undercover Mother by Emma Robinson ~ #bookreview @emmarobinsonuk @Bookouture

  1. Berit! This sounds like such a fun read that I’d really enjoy as a mom! You describe those early days so well. They were ge best. The worst. And some of the loniest too. Thanks for the wonderful and really heartfelt review! I felt really connected to this book without even reading it yet!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s