Dark Lies by Nick Hollin ~ New Release ~ @vonmaraus @bookouture #bookreview

Dark Lies

New Release Today ~ March 26, 2018

Dark Lies by Nick Hollin

4 Wild Stars 🌟🌟🌟🌟

Synopsis

Don’t trust your friends. Don’t trust your family. Don’t trust yourself… 

The people of London fear for their lives when a twisted serial killer called The Cartoonist starts targeting young mothers, leaving their bodies on display in their homes with speech bubbles drawn from their lips. He has a terrifying story to tell, but first, the right people need to be listening…

Nathan Radley has a brilliant and dangerous talent.Formerly one of the best criminal psychologists on the police force he’s renowned for getting deep into the minds of the murderers he hunts. But for the past year he has lived in isolation, haunted by this gift and his own dark desires.

DI Katie Rhodes’ career is spinning out of control.She’d sworn never to knock on her old partner Nathan’s door again, but when she sees his distinctive birthmark drawn in chocolate on one of the victims, she knows she doesn’t have a choice.
As the body count rises and the clues become more and more personal, Katie and Nathan join forces for one final case together.

Why is The Cartoonist using Katie and Nathan’s own dark secrets as calling cards on his victims? What does he want, and how many more innocent lives will be taken before they can crack his disturbing riddle?

To find a murderer, first you need to think like a murderer. The Cartoonist doesn’t just know this, he’s counting on it…

An absolutely nail-biting serial killer thriller perfect for anyone who loved the twisted mind games in Hannibal. Fans of M.J. Arlidge, Helen Fields and Rachel Abbott will not want to miss this page-turning debut!

Review

WOW! This book sure took me on a wild and crazy ride…. good thing I don’t have motion sickness or I would be sick from all the twists and turns (this is where you laugh😂) this isn’t a traditional psychological thriller…. maybe more of a hybrid between a psychological thriller and a police procedural? There is definitely psychology involved because one of the main protagonists is a profiler….

Our two main protagonists Katie and Nathan were not necessarily terribly likable or relatable, however they were very well-developed and interesting…. Katie is the daughter of a cop, a father she admires greatly, so of course she follows in his footsteps…. Katie feels as though she has some pretty big shoes to fill, but was Dad as perfect as she thinks…. Nathan is a profiler, able to get into the minds of killers…. but how far away from being a killer yourself are you, when you can think and feel like them?

Why are there not more books with profilers in them? I find this fascinating the psychology behind why people do the things they do…. The taking of a crime scene and piecing together the type of person that would commit such a crime…. this aspect of the book was truly fascinating and I really actually would’ve like even more of it….

Women are being murdered and clues are being left to let Katie and Nathan know that this is personal…. but what are the odds of this being tied to both of their pasts? The death of Nathan‘s mother and an act Katie‘s father committed, both of which happened long ago? So many twists in this… who was good and who was bad? Can Katie and Nathan ever trust each other again? Should they ever trust each other again?

The conclusion to this book was wild…. something I did not see coming, neither did Katie or Nathan…. so curious to see where the next book in the series goes…. this case was so personal… so what’s next?

Recommend to fans of psychological thrillers, crime thrillers, and all things crazy….

*** Thank you so much too Bookouture and Net Galley for a copy of this book ***

Enjoy the ride,

Berit

6 thoughts on “Dark Lies by Nick Hollin ~ New Release ~ @vonmaraus @bookouture #bookreview

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s