Posted in Contemporary Romance, New Adult

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson – @TheBloggess #Audiobook #Review #Memoir

Let's Pretend This Never Happened

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson

🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 Hilariously Funny Stars

Synopsis

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris—Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives—the ones we’d like to pretend never happened—are in fact the ones that define us. In the #1 New York Times bestseller, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor. Chapters include: “Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel”; “A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband”; “My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking”; “And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane.” Pictures with captions (no one would believe these things without proof) accompany the text.

Review

So as you may or may not know i have a huge allergy to anything Non Fiction related, i mean i know it’s real life, and it’s very interesting, but my mind just goes NOPE and i can’t concentrate on them.

This one was a HUGE exception, i pretty much laughed from the first sentence onwards throughout the whole book.

Narrated by the author Jenny Lawson, she takes us through her hilarious life stories.

Who is Jenny Lawson and why is she making a book you ask?? Yep i did too.

Jenny Lawson is a blogger, she writes The Bloggess and it is utterly brilliant, i am a new follower of her blog, Twitter, Facebook, i mean I’m practically stalking the poor woman now!

The reason being, she is like my spirit animal, i am a little bit in love with her (in a non stalker/serial killer way) I mean, I don’t want to use her skin as a table lamp or anything, but I would love to meet her as she just sounds amazing!

Her family background is just too fabulous to describe, but things like her taxidermist father waking her and her sister up in the middle of the night to show her a ‘Magic Squirrel’ (read dead and hand stuffed up his ass) is one of the highlights.

You dont often meet people that say ‘I had a pet Raccoon in my bathtub’ very often, if at all, and even if they do, they certainly wouldn’t dress them in little shorts!

Not every page is full of laughs, there are a few times that my heart hurt for her, especially when she spoke about trying to conceive, but most of it is done with a chipper side of laughs.

Not many people can sing at the top of their lungs “I GOT MY HAND STUCK IN A COWS VAGINA” and get away with it, but she does, and she does it brilliantly.

If possible listen to the audio, you wont regret it.

📣Jenny, i doubt that you will, but if you ever read this then know i am TOTALLY up for us being BFF’s, i dont even need to move into your basement or anything, i can just turn up unannounced, as long as i don’t get attacked by any Turkey/Quail guard dogs 😂

🎧🎧Narration for the book is done by Jenny herself, and it was AMAZING, she is hilariously funny, and although some of the subjects are heartwrenching she still delivers a stellar performance.

A Laugh A Minute

Enjoy

V x

Unloved by Katy Regnery – @KatyRegnery @TheRealJoeArden @NarratorMaxine #Audiobook #Review

Unloved

Unloved by Katy Regnery

🌟🌟🌟🌟 Feel the Feels Stars

Synopsis

My name is Cassidy Porter…

My father, Paul Isaac Porter, was executed twenty years ago for the brutal murder of twelve innocent girls.

Though I was only eight-years-old at the time, I am aware – every day of my life – that I am his child, his only son.

To protect the world from the poison in my veins, I live a quiet life, off the grid, away from humanity.

I promised myself, and my mother, not to infect innocent lives with the darkness that swirls within me, waiting to make itself known.

It’s a promise I would have kept…if Brynn Cadogan hadn’t stumbled into my life.

Now I exist between heaven and hell: falling for a woman who wants to love me, while all along reminding myself that I must remain…

Unloved.

**NOTE: This book is intended for readers 18+**

Review

This is a book that is full of feels.

Told in alternate POV this tells the story of Brynn and Cassidy.

Brynn is a happy go lucky girl, but all of this comes to a sudden and devastating halt.

The prologue had me in tears before I’d even started the story!

Cassidy lives alone, he does this by choice, although he was also advised to do so by his grandpa, he does this because of his father, an infamous serial killer who was executed twenty years ago for killing 12 young girls!

Cassidy doesn’t want to end up like his father so he keeps himself closed away from anyone, living in a self sufficient “off the grid” ranch.

Brynn wants to say goodbye to the love of her life, and the best way she knows how is to climb his favourite mountain Katahdin, close to where Cassidy lives.

A stupid decision on her part finds her in trouble, and Cassidy comes to the rescue and becomes her saviour.

Taking her back to his ranch to nurse her back to health, the story takes a 180 and Cassidy has to fight his feelings for Brynn as he can’t handle how he is feeling, he is scared about the ‘poisoned blood’ in his veins and tries to keep his distance.

Brynn wakes up in a place she doesn’t know, with a man she has never met looking after him, she tries her best to befriend him but he is always keeping her at arms length and she doesn’t know why!

With a couple of great twists that i didn’t see coming, I really enjoyed listening to this book.

🎧🎧Narration was again perfectly done by the always brilliant #AndCock Joe Arden, and the most beautiful Maxine Mitchell, they really are a dream team together and an instant 1 click for me, regardless of the author, which is exactly how i stumbled across this little beautiful book.

Feel the Feels and Enjoy

V x