The High Season by Judy Blundell #BookReview #BeachRead #ReleaseDay @judymblundell

Another beachy book!🏖 so happy to share with you my review for this book filled with fun, friends, family, angst, and the beach😍

The High Season

The High Season by Judy Blundell

4.25 Beachy Stars 🌟🌟🌟🌟.25

Synopsis

In a beach town overrun with vacationers and newly colonized by socialites, one woman goes to extreme lengths when the life she loves is upended. The ultimate summer read, this novel of money, class, and family is perfect for fans of Meg Wolitzer, Curtis Sittenfeld, and Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney’s The Nest.

No matter what the world throws her way, at least Ruthie Beamish has the house. Lovingly renovated, located by the sea in a quiet village two ferry rides from the glitzier Hamptons, the house is Ruthie’s nest egg–the retirement account shared with her ex-husband, Mike, and the college fund for their teenage daughter, Jem. The catch? To afford the house, Ruthie must let it go during the best part of the year.

It’s Memorial Day weekend and Ruthie has packed up their belongings for what Jem calls “the summer bummer” the family’s annual exodus to make way for renters. This year, the Hamptons set has arrived. Adeline Clay is elegant, connected, and accompanied by a “gorgeous satellite” stepson.

The widow of a blue-chip artist, in a world defined by luxury and ease, Adeline demonstrates an uncanny ability to help herself to Ruthie’s life. Is Adeline just being her fabulous self, or is she out to take what she wants?

When an eccentric billionaire, his wayward daughter, a coterie of social climbers, and Ruthie’s old flame are thrown into the mix, the entire town finds itself on the verge of tumultuous change. But as Ruthie loses her grasp on her job, her home, and her family, she discovers a new talent for pushing back. By the end of one unhinged, unforgettable summer, nothing will be the same–least of all Ruthie.

Review

4.25 Beachy Stars 🌟🌟🌟🌟.25

This book was a beach vacation without the sand🏖 it was definitely not a “summer bummer…“ that’s how Jem referred to the fact that they had to move out of their house in the summer, in the high season….

This book was about the rich and the privileged… and a lovely village in the north fork of Long Island…. geography lesson (I did not know this before this book) the Hamptons are on the south fork of Long Island and this charming village was on the North Fork… A village filled with farmstands and charming museums… where the rich vacation in the summer…. sometimes it’s nice to read a book that allows you to escape reality… because some of the characters are not living in the same reality that you are… but don’t worry this is not a book about snobby rich people, in fact the most important characters in this book are not rich…

Ruthie, loved her! Now Ruthy really had a” summer bummer…” you know that saying ,”kick them when their down!”? That was pretty much her summer, she could not catch a break… but she found out who her true friends were, and she grew a lot… Ruthie was such a likable and relatable character… she was a mother, she was a friend, and she knew what it was like to earn a dollar….Jem, Ruthie’s teenage daughter was also a very likable character… The author did a very good job with the teenage angst….

Absolutely recommend as a summer read whether you are on the beach or not…

*** thank you so much to the publisher and Net Galley for a copy of this beachy book ***

Life’s a Beach, Berit 💛

5 thoughts on “The High Season by Judy Blundell #BookReview #BeachRead #ReleaseDay @judymblundell

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s