Posted in Blog Tour, Contemporary Fiction

Gracie’s Secret by Jill Childs @author_jill @bookouture #BookReview #BlogBlitz

Gracies-Secret-Kindle

My dearest daughter, I will never forget the day I nearly lost you. The day you learned the secrets that would tear our lives apart…

Time stops for Jen when her beloved daughter, Gracie, is involved in a terrible car crash. Pronounced dead at the scene, it’s a miracle when paramedics manage to then resuscitate the little girl.

The relief Jen feels at Gracie’s recovery is matched only by her fury at the driver of the car – her ex-husband’s new girlfriend Ella. Jen has never trusted Ella, and now her worst fears have been confirmed.

But then Gracie begins to tell strange stories about what she heard in the car that day, and what she saw in those moments near death. It’s clear that there’s something shocking hidden in Ella’s past… but exposing it could tear all their lives apart.

An emotional page-turner that will take your breath away. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Lisa Wingate and Kerry Fisher.

~My Review~

4.25 Intriguing Stars 🌟🌟🌟🌟.25

I really have been so fortunate as of late, I have read so many wonderful books! And this book was absolutely no exception to that… I usually go into books blind, I hardly ever read the blurb… so halfway through this I was 🤔 is this a thriller or am I seeing a twist because I read so many thrillers? I’m sure all of my fellow thriller Readers do the same thing, we are always looking for that crazy twist…. not going to tell you if this book twists or not, but I am going to tell you it was an engaging and unique read….

The book starts out with Jen getting the phone call every parent fears, her young three-year-old daughter Gracie is in the hospital… she gets to the hospital to find out her daughter is in a coma and her ex-husband‘s new girlfriend Ella was driving the car at the time of this accident…. needing to place blame Jen places all the blame on Ella… The mama bear in me completely empathize with Jen… and even though I didn’t necessarily fine Jen all that relatable, I did always have her back… Ella on the other hand just rubbed me the wrong way…. even when I found out there was more to her story, I still could not find much compassion for her… The majority of the story is told from Jen‘s point of view…. although we did get some of Ella’a perspective as well, yet that still did not make her more likable…

Gracie was an adorable three-year-old, however I must admit there are times I wished she was five… We’ll just say she was a very mature three-year-old, or it has been so long since I’ve had a three-year-old I don’t remember… when Gracie recovers from her coma she begins to tell her mom about some unusual things such as a light and angels… I really found this part of the book unique and well done… whether you are a believer or not the idea of an angel is comforting… I do want to emphasize however this is not a religious book, there is just some mentions of what happens when you die…. there also is to be quite honest an Erie element to it all as well…

All in all this was a really wonderful debut novel, that I would absolutely recommend for a little change of pace…

*** many thanks too Bookouture for my copy of this wonderful book ***

Gracie’s Secret by Jill Childs
Buy links:
 
Jill profileAbout the author: 
Jill has always loved writing – real and imaginary – and spent 30 years travelling the world as a journalist, living overseas and reporting wherever the news took her. She’s now made her home in London with her husband and twin girls who love stories as much as she does. Although she’s covered everything from earthquakes and floods, riots and wars, she’s found some of the most extraordinary stories right here at home – in the secrets and lies she imagines behind closed doors on ordinary streets, just like yours.

If you’ve enjoyed reading one of Jill’s books, please do leave a review.
For latest news, follow Jill on Twitter (author_jill) and Facebook (Jill Childs)

Gracie's Secret - Blog Tour
Many thanks to Kim for the invite to this fabulous blog blitz!
Happy Father’s Day! Berit 💛
Posted in Blog Tour

The Cottage on Lily Pond Lane Part 1 New Beginings by Emily Harvale @emilyharvale @rararesources #BookReview #LilyPondLane #BlogTour

Happy Sunday all! Exciting day… my oldest is coming home from University for two weeks before he goes back for summer school! And I am part of the blog Tour for this lovely book💜 many thanks to Rachel for the invitation and to Emily Harvale for her delightful story🐸

Cottage on Lily Pond Lane Blog TourThe Cottage on Lily Pond Lane

New Beginnings

Mia Ward is amazed to be told she has inherited her great-aunt Matilda’s thatched cottage in the tiny seaside village of Little Pondale – especially as Mia didn’t know she had a great-aunt Matilda.

She’s even more astonished to discover she’ll only inherit the place if she actually lives there for one year. Mia’s a city girl at heart, not to mention she’s afraid of water, so the fact the cottage backs on to a sandy beach, is not, in her opinion, a bonus.

But Mia’s struggling to pay her rent since being fired for inappropriate behaviour at the office party, and her boyfriend’s also dumped her. When her best friend, Ella and Ella’s brother, Garrick offer to help her move and settle in, Mia decides to see this as a new beginning.

It may also be the start of an exciting adventure because now Mia wants to know just who, exactly, was great-aunt Matilda. And she’s determined to find out. But it soon becomes clear that someone is trying to make sure Mia doesn’t stay in Little Pondale….

~My Review~

5 Captivating Stars 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

I am such a sucker when it comes to a book set in a cottage by the sea in the UK… I mean how lovely would it be to live in a cottage named Sunbeam? A cottage in a village called Lily Pondale that backs up to the beach… A village filled with friendly people, not to mention nothing but gorgeous men… not sure what is stopping me from packing my bags immediately? Oh yes… reality! That is why I read to escape reality and so I Can visit a lovely village such as this…. and this book was every bit as charming as the title/cottage/village implies….

Mia is a little down on her luck, lost her job and her man… but now she has the opportunity to inherit a cottage… Mia is a city girl and not quite sure how she’s going to take to living in the country… but the cottage is free and if she lives there for a year she will inherit it outright…. so along with her BFF Ella and Ella’s twin brother Garrick she heads to Lily Pondale…

So many new discoveries… Learning about her great aunt Matilda that Mia never even knew she had…. A cottage full of hidden nooks and crannies and secrets… and a village filled with gorgeous eligible men, Romance is bound to be in the air soon…. A delightful beginning to this serial filled with new beginnings…

Absolutely recommend as a quick delightful summer read, you could definitely finish this in one afternoon by the pool or on the beach…

*** many thanks to the author and Rachel at Rachel’s Random Resources for my copy of this book ***

Lily Pond Lane FOR RACHEL

Purchase link:https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07CQQ1YJ5

Lily Pond Lane SUMMER-NEW_MAY18 - Summer Secrets
The Cottage on Lily Pond Lane
Summer Secrets
Blurb:
Escape to the seaside village of Little Pondale with Part Two of this heart-warming and romantic, four-part serial. 

Mia Ward was amazed to inherit her great-aunt Matilda’s thatched cottage in the tiny seaside village of Little Pondale – especially as Mia didn’t know she had a great-aunt Matilda. She was even more astonished to discover she’d only inherit the place if she lives there for a year.

Now Mia and her friends, Ella and Garrick are embracing village life. Garrick’s also embracing someone in The Frog and Lily, so Mia turns her attention to one or two of her sexy, single neighbours. But great-aunt Matilda remains an enigma and Mia’s still determined to discover who she was.

When Mia’s mum, Lori arrives, she’s eager to see what the summer has to offer. There’s the Kite Festival, the Fête, the Frog Hill Run, but what really appeals to Lori, much to Mia’s horror, is the Midsummer Night’s naked bathing in the pond at Frog’s Hollow.

As sweltering days surrender to sultry nights, love is definitely in the air. And when an incident means Mia has to face her greatest fear, help arrives from a surprising source. But one thing is clear… someone is trying to make sure Mia doesn’t stay in Little Pondale…

~Review and Blog Tour Coming in July🐸💜

Purchase Link –  http://newbook.at/LilyPondSummer

EPSON scanner imageAuthor Bio –

Having lived and worked in London for several years, Emily returned to her home town of Hastings where she now spends her days writing… and chatting on social media. Emily is a Member of the SoA, a PAN member of the RWA and a Pro Member of ALLi. She’s an Amazon bestseller and a Kindle All Star. Emily loves writing and her stories are sure to bring a smile to your face and a warmth to your heart.
Emily says, “I write about friendship, family and falling in love. I believe in happing endings.” When she isn’t writing, she can be found enjoying the stunning East Sussex coast and countryside, or in a wine bar with friends, discussing life, love and the latest TV shows. Chocolate cake is often eaten. She dislikes housework almost as much as she dislikes anchovies – and will do anything to avoid both.

Social Media Links –  https://www.facebook.com/emilyharvalewriter

https://www.twitter.com/emilyharvale

https://www.instagram.com/emilyharvale

New Beginnings Full Banner

Have a lovely day, Berit 💛