Posted in Blog Tour

Pretty Ugly Lies by Pamela Crane @Bloodhoundbook #BookReview

Happy Friday all!

apologies for getting this posted much later than I wish I had, my allergies are killing me and they are really affecting my eyes! Itchy and watery and there is now a fire nearby making it even worse oh the joys of summer! But I digress…

Thrilled to be part of the blog blitz for this book about the darker side of motherhood. Many thanks to Sarah for the invitation and to Pamela Crane for this intriguing book!💕

Pamela Crane - Pretty Ugly Lies_cover_3

What causes a woman to murder her whole family?

Jo’s idyllic life would make most people jealous. Until one day her daughter is abducted and the only way to find her is to unravel her dark past.

Ellie is a devoted wife… until she discovers the pain of betrayal. Now vengeance is all she can think about.

Party-girl Shayla knows how to hide her demons. But when she’s confronted with a life-shattering choice, it will cost her everything.

June knows suffering intimately, though the smile she wears keeps it hidden.

Soon the lives of these four women intersect and one of them is about to snap…

From USA TODAY best-selling author Pamela Crane comes “a thought-provoking domestic noir novel perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and B.A. Paris … A chilling look at the secrets mothers will hide for the sake of their families, and the gruesome reality of what can break an everyday woman.”

My Thoughts

4 Pretty Ugly Stars 🌟🌟🌟🌟

This book takes a dark, real, and raw look at motherhood… I want to start off by saying I thought this was a really good book… it was very readable… probably too relatable, maybe hit a little close to home at times…. it was also a quick and compelling read filled with extremely well developed characters…. my only issue with this book is the characters themselves, I will go on a mini rant about that at the end of my review, LOL

The book starts out with a bloody murder scene, a mother has snapped and murdered her entire family…. we are then introduce to four different mothers with plenty of dirty laundry both literally and figuratively… some of these mothers I found more likable and more relatable than others… Jo was probably the most sympathetic character for me, I mean how can you not feel for a mother whose child has gone missing? Dark secret or no dark secret this is every mother‘s worst nightmare…. The rest of these mothers rub me the wrong way and I will address that more later…. but you do not need to like the characters in a book to like the book and I thought this book was really well done… I loved trying to figure out who snapped and I really thought it could possibly be each of these mothers at some point during the book…. this was a fast paced Book, that kept me turning those pages…. I enjoyed knowing the outcome while reading the book it really made the amateur detective and amateur psychologist in me happy….

Strongly encourage you to pick up this book it was a real look at the darker side of motherhood, filled with secrets and plenty of twists….

* warning rent ahead*

* The mothers in this book seriously frustrated me with the exception of Jo…. now I do understand motherhood is hard I have three kids and my first two are only 13 months apart, I get it! I also suffered from postpartum depression after my second child was born, so I get that as well! BUT these women did not seem to have any love towards their children… these are women who chose to have children, who are living in a upper-class neighborhood by choice, and they just could not seem to see the forest for the trees…. and the expectation that your young children are going to shower you with love and appreciate you is insane! Seriously I don’t think I truly appreciated my parents until I had children myself…. I just ultimately had a hard time with these women whining about their almost perfect lives and blaming their children for what was wrong with them…. they all clearly needed a friend like me to smack them back into reality! LOL I think it says something about the amazing writing and character development in this book to have evoked such strong emotions in me!

*

* *** many thanks to Bloodhound Books for my copy of this book ***

Pamela_Crane

Meet Pamela Crane

Pamela Crane is a professional juggler. Not the type of juggler who can toss flaming torches in the air, but a juggler of four kids, a writing addiction, a horse rescuer, and a book editor by trade. She lives on the edge (ask her Arabian horse about that—he’ll tell you all about their wild adventures while trying to train him) and she writes on the edge. Writing murder mysteries is her escape from the real world of dirty diapers and cleaning horse stalls, and she bases her characters on real people, so be warned! She is a USA Today best-selling author of several award-winning thrillers, which you can find on her website at www.pamelacrane.com.

Author links:

http://www.pamelacrane.com

https://www.facebook.com/Author.Pamela.Crane

https://www.goodreads.com/goodreadscompamela_crane

B L O G B L I T Z

TGIF! Berit☀️✨

Posted in Blog Tour

5 Brilliant Stars🌟 Her Mother’s Grave by Lisa Regan @Lisalregan @bookouture #BookReview

TGIF book friends! Are you ready for the weekend?

Excited to be part of the blog tour for the third book in this fabulous series! Many thanks to Noelle for the invitation and to Lisa Regan for this wonderful story!💕🕵🏻‍♀️

Her-Mothers-Grave-Kindle

About the Book

When two young boys discover human bones buried beneath a tree in a trailer park, Detective Josie Quinn races to join her team at the scene. She used to play in those woods as a child, happier outside and away from her abusive mother, Belinda Rose.

Josie’s past crashes into her present when a rare dental condition confirms the bones belong to a teenage foster-child who was murdered thirty years ago. A girl named Belinda Rose…

Josie hasn’t seen her mother in years but, with an undeniable connection between her mother and the dead girl, does she dare track her down?

Just as Josie gets closer to uncovering a secret that will shatter her world forever, another body is uncovered. It’s suddenly clear that someone very close to Josie will stop at nothing to keep the truth buried forever.

As she battles the demons from her past, can Josie stop this killer before another precious life is taken?

Do you love unputdownable crime thrillers that keep you up all night? Then this gripping rollercoaster ride, perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni and Rachel Caine, will have you totally hooked! 

My Thoughts

5 Best Yet Stars 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

This is the third book in the detective Josie Quinn series and the best yet! Josie Quinn is being crowned my favorite female detective… Lisa Regan did a brilliant job with the character development of Josie… in the first book I liked her but I didn’t feel as though we really got to know her…in the second book we got to know her a little better, we got a little glimpse into her past, but we were still held at arms length… in this book WOW she was laid bare to us… we got multiple flashbacks of Josie from age 6 to 14 when she was abused almost to the point of being tortured by her mother… this part of the book was hard to read… it was very dark, very disturbing, yet very revealing and telling…. your heart broke for Josie and your respect grew for her….

This book starts out with 30 year old bones being discovered… when the identity of the body is revealed to be A young lady named Belinda Rose, Josie is confused… how can that be? That is her mother’s name and her mother was still alive…. so who is her mother really? And how is she connected to this body? Just as in the previous books in this series The layers of this mystery were peeled away at the perfect pace… leaving me frantically turning the pages to see what was going to happen next…. twist after twist that I did not see coming and an ending that surprised me and left me satisfied…

In my review for the second book in the series I asked Lisa Reagan to please let a little romance develop between Noah and Josie… and guess what? She listen to me!😂 I like the direction their relationship is headed in and I hope Noah can help Josie heal her heart… I cannot wait for the next book in this series… and I will let you in on a little something cool… Lisa Regan commented on my blog and the next book will reveal some of Gretchen’s secrets and it’s out in December!

In case you couldn’t figure it out from my gushing review I strongly encourage you to pick this book up and if you have the time binge the entire series over the weekend!

*** many thanks to Bookouture for my copy of this fabulous book ***

Purchase at Amazon: mybook.to/HMGSocial 

Lisa Regan - Author Photo

Meet Lisa

 

Lisa Regan is an Amazon bestselling crime novelist.  She has a Bachelor’s Degree in English and Master of Education Degree from Bloomsburg University.  She is a member of Sisters In Crime, Mystery Writers of America and International Thriller Writers. She lives in Philadelphia with her husband and daughter. Find out more at her website: www.lisaregan.com

 Author Social Media Links:

FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/Lisa-Regan-189735444395923/

TWITTER: https://twitter.com/Lisalregan

WEBSITE: www.lisaregan.com

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6443334.Lisa_Regan

Berit☀️✨