Posted in Blog Tour

The Gemini Connection by Teri Polen @TPolen6 @shananannigans81 #GuestPost

Tour Banner.jpg

The Gemini Connection 2D Cover.jpgThe Gemini Connection by Teri Polen

Publication Date: June 7, 2018

Genre: YA Dystopian

Teen twin brothers Evan and Simon Resnik are fiercely loyal to each other and share an unusual bond—they experience each other’s emotions as their own and can sense where the other is.

On their dying planet of Tage, scientists work tirelessly on its survival. Like the twins’ parents, Simon is a science prodigy, recruited at a young age to work with the brilliant creator of Scientific Innovations. To the bitter disappointment of their parents, Evan shows no aptitude or interest in science. As a Mindbender, he travels into the minds of scientists to locate buried memories, connect ideas and concepts, and battle recurring nightmares.

When Simon mysteriously disappears, Evan is plunged into a world of loss and unbearable guilt. For the first time, he can’t ‘feel’ Simon—it’s like he no longer exists. Evan blames himself. No one knows that he ignored his brother’s pleas for help on the night he went missing.

A year later, Simon is still gone. Evan lost his twin, but Tage might have lost its last hope of survival when it’s discovered that Simon’s unfinished project could be its salvation. Evan is determined to find him—somewhere—and bring Simon home. Their unusual connection might be more extraordinary than they know, and the key to locating Simon.

Add to Goodreads

Excerpt

Evan and Syd Battling a Nightmare

Now Available

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Black Rose Writing

About the Author

author photo

Teri Polen reads and watches horror, sci-fi, and fantasy.  The Walking Dead, Harry Potter, and anything Marvel-related are likely to cause fangirl delirium.  She lives in Bowling Green, KY with her husband, sons, and black cat.  Her first novel, Sarah, a YA horror/thriller, was a horror finalist in the 2017 Next Generation Indie Book Awards.  Visit her online at http://www.teripolen.com

Teri Polen | Facebook |  Twitter 

 Goodreads | Instagram | Pinterest | Book Bub

cover-ereader.png

Enter for your chance to win a signed copy of The Gemini Connection and a $20 Amazon Gift Card!

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

Blog Tour Organized By:

R&RButto200x200.jpg

R&R Book Tours

Guest Post

Identical twin brother main characters, Evan and Simon, in my new YA sci-fi/thriller, The Gemini Connection, may look alike and share an extraordinary bond, but that’s where their similarities end. While writing, I generally prefer to listen to music, as I did while drafting this book–but quickly learned each twin demanded their own playlist. And they were vastly different.

Simon is a science prodigy, and everything in his world is precise, meticulous, and fact-based. He sees things in black and white, rarely venturing into gray areas. That being said, Simon’s met someone who’s causing him to be uncharacteristically distracted and unfocused–he can’t get this guy out of his mind. While writing Simon’s character, he liked classical music in the background–especially cello music. I’m not really a classical music fan, but I can appreciate it. Once Simon’s relationship began with his new love interest, two songs jumped to the forefront: Sunshower by Chris Cornell, as played by Vitamin String Quartet, and Rachmaninoff’s Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini, Variation 18–you may know it as the theme from the movie Somewhere In Time. Simon may be highly logical in his head, but he’s a bit of a romantic in his soul.

Evan is a different story entirely. His mind is full of stormy emotions–doubt, anger, guilt, grief, determination, fear–he’s dealing with some pretty heavy issues. Between searching for Simon and feeling responsible for his disappearance, trying to prove himself to his parents, and sorting his feelings for someone very close to him, Evan’s a vessel of constantly churning emotions, and his choices in songs reflect that. He and I share much similar tastes in alt/rock music.

Bring Me to Life – Evanescence

Falling Apart – Papa Roach

Love Falls – Hellyeah

Hurricane – Thrice

Stand By Me – Ki Theory

Way Down We Go – Kaleo

I’d Rather See Your Star Explode – Slaves

Make This Go On Forever – Snow Patrol

Bother – Stone Sour

In the Air Tonight – Phil Collins

Angels Fall – Breaking Benjamin

Vengeance – Zack Hemsey

Their tastes may be polar opposites, but the music made it pretty to get into their heads, and I could see things playing out as I wrote. I’ve started drafting another book now, but I still miss my twins. Maybe a sequel one day?

Posted in Women's Fiction

Forgive Me Not by Samantha Tonge @SamTongeWriter @rararesources #BookReview #PubDay

Happy Monday y’all!

Happy Publication Day to this beautiful story about forgiveness! Many thanks to Rachel for inviting me to the celebration and to Samantha Tonge for this compelling story😍

Forgive Me Not long - Lower qualForgive Me Not

Forgiveness can be hard to come by… An unputdownable new novel from bestseller Samantha Tonge

 How far would you go to make amends?

When Emma fled her home at Foxglove Farm, she’d let down and hurt those who cared for her most. But now, two years later, she’s ready to face up to her past; she’s ready to go back.

But Emma’s unannounced return causes more problems than she could have foreseen. The people she knew and loved aren’t ready to forget, let alone forgive. And the one person she wants to reconnect with the most, her mother, can’t remember who she is.

Just as Emma starts to rebuild trust, an uncovered family secret and a shocking past crime threaten her newly forged future…

Sometimes simply saying sorry isn’t enough.

Perfect for readers of Ruth Hogan or Amanda Prowse, this is an extraordinary and unforgettable novel about running away from yourself – and finding a way back.

My Thoughts

4 Captivating Stars 🌟🌟🌟🌟

This was a beautiful book about forgiveness, mistakes, second chances, addiction, family, and friendship… I have a very personal connection to this book… my life as well as the lives of my children have been touched by addiction… so when I read a book like this with an alcoholic who I am meant to sympathize with it is somewhat difficult… because I know far too well what it is like to pick up the pieces and hold a family together in the wake of addiction… will I ever forgive the person in my life who has left me to clean up the mess? Probably not! But I have to say Samantha Tonge has done an extremely good job of creating a very empathetic character in Emma…..

Emma returns home after several years away… she has spent time on the streets, battled her addiction, and now wants to return to her family… The reunion however is not filled with tears of happiness and hugs… her mother is suffering from early onset Alzheimers and doesn’t even know who Emma is… her sister Andrea is bitter and angry, Emma left her to deal with her mother’s health issues and all the family’s financial issues alone…. will the sisters ever have a strong relationship again? And does Emma deserve her sister’s love and forgiveness?

This book really gave you a lot of food for thought…. Emma was a very likable character, especially in the beginning when you did not know her past… but when do you remember the past and when do you let it go? There were times in this book I felt as though Andrea and the other towns people were being very harsh and unfair to Emma, but then I thought that was slightly hypocritical of me…. was Emma a good person who made some mistakes? And if so what should the cost of those mistakes be? I just don’t know…. are all actions forgivable?

This book also touches on the issue of homelessness… The homeless in this Book were referred to as “rough sleepers” a term I have never heard before… i’m not really sure if this added anything to the story? Although there was a character who I particularly liked that was homeless… also I am not quite sure what the laws in the UK are as far as mental illness and homelessness, so the problem might be completely different in the US? I have no idea…. I think it is a problem no matter where you are, it just might be a completely different problem from one country to another dependent upon laws….

This was a well told nicely paste story with well develop characters… absolutely recommend if you enjoy books that really make you think and don’t shy away from the tough issues…

*** many thanks to the publisher for my copy of this book ***

Forgive Me Not 2

Purchase Links

Amazon: https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07F6Z1GYC/?_encoding=UTF8&camp=1634&creative=6738&linkCode=ur2&tag=canelo-21

Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/gb/en/ebook/forgive-me-not

Google: https://play.google.com/store/books/details?id=D7liDwAAQBAJ

iBooks:https://geo.itunes.apple.com/gb/book/the-quantum-spy/id1406717966?mt=11&uo=8&at=1000l5Q7

Sam Tonge - CaneloAbout Samantha Tonge

Samantha Tonge lives in Manchester UK and her passion, second to spending time with her husband and children, is writing. She studied German and French at university and has worked abroad, including a stint at Disneyland Paris. She has travelled widely.

When not writing she passes her days cycling, baking and drinking coffee. Samantha has sold many dozens of short stories to women’s magazines.

In 2013, she landed a publishing deal for romantic comedy fiction with HQDigital at HarperCollins and in 2014, her bestselling debut novel, Doubting Abbey, was shortlisted for the Festival of Romantic Fiction best Ebook award. In 2015 her summer novel, Game of Scones, hit #5 in the UK Kindle chart and won the Love Stories Awards Best Romantic Ebook category.

Links

Twitter: https://twitter.com/SamTongeWriter

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SamanthaTongeAuthor

Website: http://samanthatonge.co.uk/

Have a lovely week! Berit☀️✨

Posted in Blog Tour

The Vanished Child by M.J. Lee @WriterMJLee @rararesources #BookSpotlight

The Vanished ChildThe Vanished Child

What would you do if you discovered you had a brother you never knew existed?

On her deathbed, Freda Duckworth confesses to giving birth to an illegitimate child in 1944 and temporarily placing him in a children’s home. She returned later but he had vanished. 

What happened to the child? Why did he disappear? Where did he go? 

Jayne Sinclair, genealogical investigator, is faced with lies, secrets, and one of the most shameful episodes in recent history as she attempts to uncover the truth.

Can she find the vanished child?

This book is the fourth in the Jayne Sinclair Genealogical Mystery series, but can be read as a standalone novel.

Every childhood lasts a lifetime.

The Vanished Child Cover EBOOK

Purchase Link myBook.to/vanishedchild

martin2

Author Bio – Martin has spent most of his adult life writing in one form or another. As a University researcher in history, he wrote pages of notes on reams of obscure topics. As a social worker with Vietnamese refugees, he wrote memoranda. And, as the creative director of an advertising agency, he has written print and press ads, tv commercials, short films and innumerable backs of cornflake packets and hotel websites.

He has spent 25 years of his life working outside the North of England. In London, Hong Kong, Taipei, Singapore, Bangkok and Shanghai, winning awards from Cannes, One Show, D&AD, New York and London Festivals, and the United Nations.

When he’s not writing, he splits his time between the UK and Asia, taking pleasure in playing with his daughter, researching his family history, single-handedly solving the problem of the French wine lake and wishing he were George Clooney.

Social Media Links –

Website: www.writermjlee.com

Twitter – https://twitter.com/WriterMJLee

Facebookhttps://www.facebook.com/writermjlee

The Vanished Child Full Tour Banner