Posted in Women's Fiction

Forgive Me Not by Samantha Tonge @SamTongeWriter @rararesources #BookReview #PubDay

Happy Monday y’all!

Happy Publication Day to this beautiful story about forgiveness! Many thanks to Rachel for inviting me to the celebration and to Samantha Tonge for this compelling story😍

Forgive Me Not long - Lower qualForgive Me Not

Forgiveness can be hard to come by… An unputdownable new novel from bestseller Samantha Tonge

 How far would you go to make amends?

When Emma fled her home at Foxglove Farm, she’d let down and hurt those who cared for her most. But now, two years later, she’s ready to face up to her past; she’s ready to go back.

But Emma’s unannounced return causes more problems than she could have foreseen. The people she knew and loved aren’t ready to forget, let alone forgive. And the one person she wants to reconnect with the most, her mother, can’t remember who she is.

Just as Emma starts to rebuild trust, an uncovered family secret and a shocking past crime threaten her newly forged future…

Sometimes simply saying sorry isn’t enough.

Perfect for readers of Ruth Hogan or Amanda Prowse, this is an extraordinary and unforgettable novel about running away from yourself – and finding a way back.

My Thoughts

4 Captivating Stars 🌟🌟🌟🌟

This was a beautiful book about forgiveness, mistakes, second chances, addiction, family, and friendship… I have a very personal connection to this book… my life as well as the lives of my children have been touched by addiction… so when I read a book like this with an alcoholic who I am meant to sympathize with it is somewhat difficult… because I know far too well what it is like to pick up the pieces and hold a family together in the wake of addiction… will I ever forgive the person in my life who has left me to clean up the mess? Probably not! But I have to say Samantha Tonge has done an extremely good job of creating a very empathetic character in Emma…..

Emma returns home after several years away… she has spent time on the streets, battled her addiction, and now wants to return to her family… The reunion however is not filled with tears of happiness and hugs… her mother is suffering from early onset Alzheimers and doesn’t even know who Emma is… her sister Andrea is bitter and angry, Emma left her to deal with her mother’s health issues and all the family’s financial issues alone…. will the sisters ever have a strong relationship again? And does Emma deserve her sister’s love and forgiveness?

This book really gave you a lot of food for thought…. Emma was a very likable character, especially in the beginning when you did not know her past… but when do you remember the past and when do you let it go? There were times in this book I felt as though Andrea and the other towns people were being very harsh and unfair to Emma, but then I thought that was slightly hypocritical of me…. was Emma a good person who made some mistakes? And if so what should the cost of those mistakes be? I just don’t know…. are all actions forgivable?

This book also touches on the issue of homelessness… The homeless in this Book were referred to as “rough sleepers” a term I have never heard before… i’m not really sure if this added anything to the story? Although there was a character who I particularly liked that was homeless… also I am not quite sure what the laws in the UK are as far as mental illness and homelessness, so the problem might be completely different in the US? I have no idea…. I think it is a problem no matter where you are, it just might be a completely different problem from one country to another dependent upon laws….

This was a well told nicely paste story with well develop characters… absolutely recommend if you enjoy books that really make you think and don’t shy away from the tough issues…

*** many thanks to the publisher for my copy of this book ***

Forgive Me Not 2

Purchase Links

Amazon: https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07F6Z1GYC/?_encoding=UTF8&camp=1634&creative=6738&linkCode=ur2&tag=canelo-21

Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/gb/en/ebook/forgive-me-not

Google: https://play.google.com/store/books/details?id=D7liDwAAQBAJ

iBooks:https://geo.itunes.apple.com/gb/book/the-quantum-spy/id1406717966?mt=11&uo=8&at=1000l5Q7

Sam Tonge - CaneloAbout Samantha Tonge

Samantha Tonge lives in Manchester UK and her passion, second to spending time with her husband and children, is writing. She studied German and French at university and has worked abroad, including a stint at Disneyland Paris. She has travelled widely.

When not writing she passes her days cycling, baking and drinking coffee. Samantha has sold many dozens of short stories to women’s magazines.

In 2013, she landed a publishing deal for romantic comedy fiction with HQDigital at HarperCollins and in 2014, her bestselling debut novel, Doubting Abbey, was shortlisted for the Festival of Romantic Fiction best Ebook award. In 2015 her summer novel, Game of Scones, hit #5 in the UK Kindle chart and won the Love Stories Awards Best Romantic Ebook category.

Links

Twitter: https://twitter.com/SamTongeWriter

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SamanthaTongeAuthor

Website: http://samanthatonge.co.uk/

Have a lovely week! Berit☀️✨

Author:

We are Berit and Vicci... two girls from different parts of the world who were brought together by Goodreads and a love of all things books 💕📚

19 thoughts on “Forgive Me Not by Samantha Tonge @SamTongeWriter @rararesources #BookReview #PubDay

  1. It sounds like a very heartfelt book. It must have been both hard, and wonderful to have such a personal connection to the book and I’m sorry for everything you had to go through! Addiction can be very very hard to deal with, and not only for the one with the addiction, but very much for those involved with them. I hope things are better now! 💖💖

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Addiction is tough, unfortunately the situation now is that my ex my kids dad is out of their life and mine, but I know it is difficult because my kids feel as though their father chose alcohol over them, we shall see if fences ever get mended? But you cannot help somebody who does not want help them self, something that took me years to figure out!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s