Posted in Blog Tour

No Place Like Home by Rebecca Muddiman @Bloodhoundbook @RebeccaMuddiman #BookReview

Hope you’re having a fabulous day!

Excited to be part of the blog blitz and share my review with you today for this twisted book! Many thanks to Sarah for my invitation and to Rebecca Muddiman for this compelling story!💛

Rebecca Muddiman - No Place Like Home_cover

What would you do if you came home to find someone in your house?
This is the predicament Polly Cooke faces when she returns to her new home.The first weeks in the house had been idyllic, but soon Jacob, a local man, is watching her.
What does he want and why is he so obsessed with Polly?

In a situation where nothing is what it seems, you might end up regretting letting some people in.

My Thoughts

4 Twisted Stars 🌟🌟🌟🌟

“Toto, I have a feeling we’re not in Kansas anymore!”

What happens when your dream house turns into your worst nightmare??? Wow this was quite the twisted story! Not even sure how to approach this review, can’t say much otherwise I will spoil this for you…

This book was NOT what I was expecting! It took a turn and it took it pretty early on I did not see coming at all… and you won’t either… therefore this vague review…. The book starts with Polly coming home to her dream house… there is a jump in the narrative between past and present that isn’t always as clear as it could be, and admittedly I did find this confusing at times… we also find out straight away that Polly has a stalker… not saying anything more than that!🤐

A cleverly crafted story that made me feel a little paranoid at times…. these characters were so untrustworthy… I had no idea who to believe and my allegiance was continually shifting…. I do like to get into the mind of crazy so this book definitely did not disappoint when it came to that!

Recommend for fans of a terribly twisty psychological thriller!

*** many thanks to Bloodhound Books for my copy of this book ***

rebecca+muddimanAuthor Bio:
Rebecca Muddiman was born and raised in the North East and worked in the NHS for many years. She has published four crime novels – Stolen, Gone, Tell Me Lies, and Murder in Slow Motion. Stolen won a Northern Writers Award in 2010 and the Northern Crime Competition in 2012. She is also a screenwriter and was selected for the London Screenwriters Festival Talent Campus in 2016.

Most of her spare time is spent re-watching Game of Thrones, trying to learn Danish, and dealing with two unruly dogs. Sometimes all at the same time.

Links:

https://twitter.com/RebeccaMuddiman
https://www.facebook.com/rebeccamuddimanwriter/
https://rebeccamuddiman.wordpress.com/
https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7053551.Rebecca_Muddiman

B L O G B L I T Z (4)

Click your heels together three times and say “there’s no place like home ” Berit☀️✨

Posted in Blog Tour

The Lost Letters by Sarah Mitchell @SarahM_writer @bookouture #BookReview

Happy Tuesday y’all!

Thrilled to share with you my review of this wonderful story! Many thanks to Noelle for my invitation to the blog tour and Sarah Mitchell for her delightful words.😍

The-Lost-Letters-Kindle

About the Book

A gripping book club novel about forbidden love, friendship and family secrets in a time of war. Perfect for fans of The Letter by Kathryn Hughes, The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

Canada, present day 

When Martha’s beloved father dies, he leaves her two things: a mysterious stash of letters to an English woman called ‘Catkins’ and directions to a beach hut in the English seaside town of Wells-Next-The-Sea. Martha is at a painful crossroads in her own life, and seizes this chance for a trip to England – to discover more about her family’s past, and the identity of her father’s secret correspondent.

Norfolk, 1940

Sylvia’s husband Howard has gone off to war, and she is struggling to raise her two children alone. Her only solace is her beach hut in Wells, and her friendship with Connie, a woman she meets on the beach. The two women form a bond that will last a lifetime, and Sylvia tells Connie something that no-one else knows: about a secret lover… and a child.

But the tragedy of war brings heartbreaking choices. And a promise made between the two women will echo down the years, and could change everything for Martha…

My Thoughts

4 Stunning Stars 🌟🌟🌟🌟

A beautiful story all about secrets and sacrifice… this is my favorite way to read historical fiction a duel timeline of the past and present… add in a mystery to be solved and I am hooked!

This story is told from the perspective of Martha in the present day… Martha’s father recently passed away in the middle of writing his memoir… when Martha is sorting through her father’s stuff she comes across some mysterious letters…. The discovery of these letters prompts Martha to hop on a plane to England to solve the puzzle of her family’s past….. The story is also told from the perspective of Sylvie in the past…. it is the beginning of WWII in England… Sylvie’s husband is off at war and she is left to care for their two young children alone… her saving grace is her friendship with Connie and a beach hut left to her by her aunt….

I really liked Martha’s character she was so down to earth and my heart broke for Sylvie…. how these two ladies and these two stories are connected is a puzzle that is pieced together throughout the book…

There is a huge focus on mothers love in this book… the evacuation of the children during wartime is so heart wrenching…. what in the world would you do in that situation? There just is no good answer!

A beautiful and intriguing story that will keep you turning those pages and wanting to hug your loved ones!

*** many thanks to Bookouture for my copy of this book ***

Available Now!

BUY LINK :  mybook.to/TLLSMSocial

Sarah Mitchell author photo - credit Andy Langley

Author Bio:

After graduating from Cambridge University, Sarah Mitchell practiced as a barrister in London for 20 years, working in the field of human rights and European Law. She was tempted to write fiction for a long while and finally signed up for an introductory creative writing course with the Open University. Two years later she took a sabbatical from the bar to do an MA in Creative Writing at the UEA and has never looked back. THE LOST LETTERS is her first novel, inspired by a walk on the beach at Wells-next-the-Sea to calm her nerves before starting the MA, and the decision her grandparents almost made to evacuate her mother to Canada at the start of the Second World War. Sarah now lives back in Norfolk – where she grew up – with her husband and three almost-grown-up children, and combines writing with some legal work.

You can follow Sarah Mitchell on Twitter at @SarahM_writer

Author Social Media Links:

TWITTER: https://twitter.com/SarahM_writer

The Lost Letters - Blog Tour

Have a lovely day! Berit☀️✨