Posted in Blog Tour

4.5 Mesmerizing Stars🌟 The Girl in the Letter by Emily Gunnis @EmilyGunnis @annecater #BookReview #RandomThingsTours

Hope you are having a lovely Monday!

Excited to be on the blog tour and share with you today my review for this compelling book! Many thanks to Anne Cater for my invitation!💕

image-66

A great book, truly hard to put down. Fast paced, brilliantly plotted and desperately sad at times – all hallmarks of a bestseller’ Lesley Pearse on The Girl in the Letter

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Kathryn Hughes, this gripping novel of long-buried secrets will stay with you for ever.

A heartbreaking letter. A girl locked away.  A mystery to be solved.

1956. When Ivy Jenkins falls pregnant she is sent in disgrace to St Margaret’s, a dark, brooding house for unmarried mothers. Her baby is adopted against her will. Ivy will never leave.

Present day. Samantha Harper is a journalist desperate for a break. When she stumbles on a letter from the past, the contents shock and move her. The letter is from a young mother, begging to be rescued from St Margaret’s. Before it is too late.
Sam is pulled into the tragic story and discovers a spate of unexplained deaths surrounding the woman and her child. With St Margaret’s set for demolition, Sam has only hours to piece together a sixty-year-old mystery before the truth, which lies disturbingly close to home, is lost for ever…

Read her letter. Remember her story…

My Thoughts

4.5 Mesmerizing Stars 🌟🌟🌟🌟.5

This was such a heart wrenching captivating story very reminiscent of “before We Were Yours”; One of my top reads of 2017… i’m not a big fan of comparing books, but in this case it is almost impossible not to… from the duel timelines to the horrific treatment of children steeped in history… if you enjoyed BWWY you will absolutely be entranced by this book as well….

There are so many layers to the story… so many well-developed multi dimensional characters, but one character really stood out to me… Ivy in my opinion was the true hero of this book… her letters really tour at my heartstrings… whisked away from her family to a home for unmarried women…. where she was treated horribly and made to give up her baby…. through all of this she maintained her humanity and her compassion…. and in her darkest of moments her thoughts were not of her self but of another… truly isn’t this The definition of a mother? Well apparently in the 50s and 60s being unmarried trumped unconditional love…. so many parts of this portion of the story were frustrating and sad…. and truly the saddest part of all is it is part of our history…. yes this Book took place in the UK, but we would be remiss to think it did not happen in the US as well….

Where the past timeline of the story was steeped in history the present day timeline was steeped in mystery… Samantha a struggling reporter, finds one of Ivy‘s letters clutched in her grandma‘s hand when she comes across her napping in the rocking chair… curious by nature Samantha doesn’t buy her grandma’s story… so why does Samantha’s grandmother have this letter? and what happens to the girl in the letter? You will need to read this book to find out the mystery and the real story behind these letters…. I guarantee you will be as enthralled as I was… as more and more secrets of the past are revealed I was more and more invested in this story…

Absolutely recommend to fans of a book with a well researched dose of history and a well developed mystery…

*** many thanks to Headline for my copy of this book ***

Amazon UK https://www.amazon.co.uk/Girl-Letter-gripping-heartwrenching-page-turner/dp/1472255097/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1532009012&sr=8-1

image-65ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Emily Gunnis previously worked in TV drama and lives in Brighton with her young family. She is one of the four daughters of Sunday Times bestselling author Penny Vincenzi.

Follow her on Twitter @EmilyGunnis

Instagram @emilygunnis

and Facebook @emilygunnisauthor.

Have a delightful day filled with words! Berit☀️✨

Author:

We are Berit and Vicci... two girls from different parts of the world who were brought together by Goodreads and a love of all things books 💕📚

20 thoughts on “4.5 Mesmerizing Stars🌟 The Girl in the Letter by Emily Gunnis @EmilyGunnis @annecater #BookReview #RandomThingsTours

      1. Getting ready for back to school 😉. I want to be writing my reviews from last month’s reads but alas we are going to get sneakers since my kid has grown his summer pairs 😳

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Beautiful review Berit. I really like the sound of this one with the dual timelines and mystery aspect. Your review also reminds me that I need to read Before We Were Yours.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s