Posted in Crime Thriller

Never Say Goodbye by Richard Parker @Bookwalter @bookouture #BookReview

Happy Monday bibliophiles!

Excited to be part of the blog tour and share my review today for this wonderful first in a series! Many thanks to Noelle for my invitation and Richard Parker for this intriguing book!🔍

Never-Say-Goodbye-Kindle
Somewhere in this city… she’s waiting to be found. When the body of an innocent woman is found stabbed in her otherwise pristine bedroom, Detective Tom Fabian is called in to lead the investigation. It’s the latest in a series of seemingly random murders all over London, which Tom suspects might be linked… but how?

Just when Tom feels all his leads have run dry, he discovers a startling connection between the victims. The killer is tracing a sinister web of murder through the capital – but where does it lead, and who is next?

But then another victim is found, just as Tom’s wife and teenage daughter find themselves in grave danger. Is it a coincidence, or has his job put his family at risk? Has Tom unknowingly sacrificed those he loves most to the darkest case of his career… and can he catch the killer before he strikes again?

A completely gripping, pulse-racing crime thriller that will keep you guessing until the last page. Perfect for fans of Melinda Leigh, Mark Edwards and Robert Dugoni.

My Thoughts

4 Speedy Stars 🌟🌟🌟🌟

This was a fast-paced action-packed police procedural… this is the first book in the Tom Fabian series and what a start! We were shot out of those gates, real quick!

Four victims brutally stabbed, and Tom believes they are connected…. but how? And why? The connection between these victims was interesting and unique… this book was originally titled “The Murder Map“ and it fit this connection so well… not sure why they change the title? But once again nobody consulted me!

Tom was a pretty stereotypical detective, but by the end of this book he felt like an old friend… his character was extremely well developed… so my old friend Tom and I were solving this crime and thank goodness he was there, because I was clueless again! The story was riddled with falls clues and misdirection… I would have seriously arrested the wrong person, I was just SO convinced! So it is a good thing that Tom’s detecting skills are slightly better than mine, and he was able to solve these murders… and just in time, because the murderer seem to be getting more desperate, more frantic, and more careless as time went on…. and truth be told the bad guy shocked me, did not see that coming! Alas foiled again!

Really though the most shocking part of this book was the apologue… what a tease… it left me speechless and needing the next book immediately!

Absolutely recommend to fans of police procedurals and bonus this is the first book in the series, so you get to start at the beginning!

*** many thanks to Bookouture for my copy of this book ***

RichardParkerPicAuthor Bio:

Richard Parker was formerly a TV script writer, script editor and producer before turning his hand to penning twisted stand alone thrillers.

Author Social Media Links:

FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/richard.jayparker.9

TWITTER: https://twitter.com/Bookwalter

WEBSITE: http://www.richardjayparker.com/

INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/bemykiller/?hl=en

Screen Shot 2018-08-07 at 16.03.15

Have a fabulous day! Berit☀️✨

Posted in Blog Tour, Crime Thriller

The Bad Neighbor by David Tallerman @davidtallerman @annecater #BookReview #RandomThingsTours

Happy Monday book lovers!

Delighted to share with you today my review for this dark and gritty book… many thanks to Anne Cater for my invitation to the blog tour.🖤

The Bad Neighbour is a gritty contemporary crime thriller set in the north of England, rooted in the author’s personal experiences of the region while drawing upon wider issues of racial intolerance, gang crime and police corruption.

When part-time teacher Ollie Clay panic-buys a rundown house in the outskirts of Leeds, he soon recognises his mistake. His new neighbour, Chas Walker, is an antisocial thug, and Ollie’s suspicions raise links to a local hate group. With Ollie’s life unravelling rapidly, he feels his choices dwindling: his situation is intolerable and only standing up to Chas can change it. But Ollie has his own history of violence, and increasingly, his own secrets to hide; and Chas may be more than the mindless yob he appears to be. As their conflict spills over into the wider world, Ollie will come to learn that there are worse problems in life than one bad neighbour.

My Thoughts

The Bad Neighbor is a compelling, dark, and gritty book…

What happens when you move into your dream house and find out you are living next to the neighbor from hell? Ollie has recently come into some money and uses it to finally purchase a house of his own… The problem is he is now living next to A skinhead… with a bit of a delinquent past of his own how will Ollie navigate the situation? This book got off to a bit of a slow start, but at about the half point it really picked up… filled with all the twists and turns and dark secrets you would expect from a book in this genre…

This was a dark book and that extended to the mood of the main character Ollie… he was definitely the glass is always half empty kind of guy… pictured him walking around with a dark cloud over his head at all times🌧 I really found myself wanting to bring some sunshine into his life…

The ending of this book was surprising and satisfying! I’d recommend this book too people who enjoy a darker grittier crime thriller…

*** many thanks to the publisher for my copy of this book ***

FLAME TREE PRESS is the new fiction imprint of Flame Tree Publishing. Launching in 2018 the list brings together brilliant new authors and the more established; the award winners, and exciting, original voices.

Amazon UK https://www.amazon.co.uk/Bad-Neighbour-Fiction-Without-Frontiers/dp/178758027X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1532861542&sr=8-1&keywords=the+bad+neighbour+tallerman

image-80ABOUT THE AUTHOR: David Tallerman is the author of the Digital Fiction Publishing fantasy adventure series The Black River Chronicles, so far comprised of Level One and The Ursvaal Exchange, as well as the novel Giant Thief (described by Fantasy Faction as “one of the finest dĂŠbuts of 2012”) and its sequels Crown Thief and Prince Thief, all published through Angry Robot.  His crime debut The Bad Neighbour is forthcoming fromFlame Tree Publishing in late 2018.

David has also written the Markosia graphic novelEndangered Weapon B: Mechanimal Science and theTor.com novella Patchwerk, as well as around a hundred short stories, which have appeared in markets such asClarkesworld, Lightspeed, Beneath Ceaseless Skies and his debut collection The Sign in the Moonlight and Other Stories.  The first issue of comic book mini-series C21st Gods is out now from Rosarium.

In his spare time, David watches inordinate numbers of movies, hikes, plays board games, and helps in the ethical submission, capture, and resettlement of troveless dragons.

Twitter @davidtallerman

Website: http://www.davidtallerman.co.uk/

image-79

Thank you for stopping by! Berit☀️✨