Posted in Blog Tour

Jessica’s Promise by Jill Childs @author_jill @bookouture #BookReview

This week has been flying by, hope your Wednesday is going well!

Delighted to be part of the blog blitz and share with you today my review for this emotional domestic thriller! Many thanks to Kim for my invitation and to Jill Childs for her wonderful story💛

My Thoughts

Riveting! Troubling! Emotional!

This was a brilliant fast-paced domestic drama! I love these emotional domestic thrillers full of twists and turns and secrets…. the kind of book that keeps you turning those pages and leaves you in tears in the middle of the night… this book did all these things and so much more! This is a book that will make you check on your kids a few times while reading, so make sure they are home… A book that also will make you question, who is watching my kids? Thankfully my kids are of an age where they are no longer being babysat, but I think I’d have a hard time dropping my kids off at the babysitter after reading this one!

Theresa along with her three-year-old daughter Jessica, 11-year-old stepdaughter Fran and her husband Craig move to a new house… there new next-door neighbor Angie seems a bit eccentric, but the girls take to her right away, especially Jessica… when Theresa goes back to work as a salon manager she chooses to have Angie watch the kids…. but how well does she know Angie? Soon enough we find out Angie has a dark secret, but what is it? And why is it that Theresa struggles with her daughter Jessica‘s behavior and Angie handles it like a champ? And what is Craig up to after work? Theresa’s life seems to be spiraling out of control and then Jessica goes missing! Who took Jessica? And why?

With a neighborhood of suspects, this book made me suspicious of everybody… you knew the culprit was someone close, but why did they take Jessica and where was she? The chapters from the point of view of the culprit were downright chilling! Both Theresa and Angie were well developed characters and I had sympathy for both of them… although I do have to admit I was suspicious of both of them at some point during the book…

A compelling story full of all the twists and turns you love in a thriller… with an ending that I never thought of, but it made complete sense…. The short chapters in this book made it a quick satisfying read… strongly encourage you to pick this one up if you are a fan of emotional domestic thrillers with a plethora of suspects…

*** many thanks to Bookouture for my copy of this book ***

About the Book

‘You wouldn’t trust a stranger with your wallet. Or your house keys. So why your little girl, the most precious thing you have?’

Teresa’s heart stops when she enters her daughter’s bedroom to find that her sweet, trusting little girl is gone.

Teresa can’t bear to think who would snatch a terrified three-year-old from her mother in the middle of the night, but all the signs point to someone close to home. Hasn’t Jessica’s stepfather been acting a little oddly? Or is it, as Teresa is beginning to fear, something to do with Angie, her daughter’s babysitter who lives next door…?

Gentle, retired Angie – she must be lonely, with only her memories to keep her company in that big, old house. And she’s always had a special connection with Jessica… was trusting Angie with her precious daughter the biggest mistake of Teresa’s life?

What do we really know about those who watch our children? Jessica’s Promise is a compelling domestic drama for fans of Jodi Picoult, Lisa Wingate and Kerry Fisher.

Amazon: http://geni.us/B07DQJL432Social

iBookstore: http://ow.ly/uwVH30lLTlQ

Kobo: http://ow.ly/APyB30lLToD

Googleplay: http://ow.ly/B8RT30lLTpN

About the Author

Jill has always loved writing – real and imaginary – and spent 30 years travelling the world as a journalist, living overseas and reporting wherever the news took her. She’s now made her home in London with her husband and twin girls who love stories as much as she does. Although she’s covered everything from earthquakes and floods, riots and wars, she’s found some of the most extraordinary stories right here at home – in the secrets and lies she imagines behind closed doors on ordinary streets, just like yours.

If you’ve enjoyed reading one of Jill’s books, please do leave a review.

For latest news, follow Jill on Twitter (author_jill) and Facebook (Jill Childs)

Thank you for stopping by! Berit☀️✨

Author:

We are Berit and Vicci... two girls from different parts of the world who were brought together by Goodreads and a love of all things books 💕📚

10 thoughts on “Jessica’s Promise by Jill Childs @author_jill @bookouture #BookReview

      1. Yayyy I read this book. NetGalley granted this. Nopes credit card remains hidden… If I see your name on the reader, I chant the mantra… Don’t get pulled… Don’t get pulled… Don’t get pulled in

        Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s