Posted in Book Bestie Approved

The Clockmaker’s Daughter by Kate Morton @AtriaBooks #6bookbestiesclockmakersdaughter #6bookbestiesapproved #bookreview #pubday

Happy Tuesday book lovers!

Delighted to share with you my review today for this beautifully told story from Kate Morton. Another wonderful discussion with my BOOK BESTIES 💕💕💕

The Clockmaker’s Daughter by Kate Morton

My Thoughts

A beautifully told story about a house, a love, and a ghost….

This is my third Kate Morton book and just as her previous books were this book was a slow burn… some books are a quick little getaway this book was a journey… The journey of a house and it’s ghost, through many decades and many eyes…. an old-fashioned love story, a contemporary mystery, and so much inbetween… This story really is like a complicated and beautiful weaving… at the beginning there are so many threads none of them seeming to be connected…. but as Kate Morton begins to work the loom and weave the story together, a beautiful picture is formed… just remember when you pick this book up sometimes weaving takes some patients and effort, but the end result is so worth it!

A love story, a ghost story, a murder, a theft, a complex plot…. this book is crammed full of interesting characters with interesting lives and if I’m being completely honest sometimes we did not get to explore those lives as thoroughly as I would have liked…. The two constant characters in this book were unlikely, the house and the ghost… both were extremely engaging and intriguing, and both had a story of their own… and as the characters traveled in and out of this house through time we really saw them through the eyes of the House and the ghost… an extremely well done go story, it will make you a believer, it really was never over the top…. a perfect addition to an October read….

As much as I appreciated this book when I finished… I have to admit it was a little tough to get into in the beginning… there are a lot of characters and it seemed a little jarring and disjointed, but I had to trust… trust that Kate Morton would bring this all together and at about 30% she really did, The picture began to come together…. and at the end of the book it was quite an exquisite picture indeed!

Absolutely recommend to fans of this author and to those of you who have the patience and passion for a complex book that spans many lives and a century and a half …

*** A huge thank you to Atria for my copy ***

About the Book

A rich, spellbinding new novel from the author of The Lake House—the story of a love affair and a mysterious murder that cast their shadow across generations, set in England from the 1860’s until the present day.

My real name, no one remembers.
The truth about that summer, no one else knows.

In the summer of 1862, a group of young artists led by the passionate and talented Edward Radcliffe descends upon Birchwood Manor on the banks of the Upper Thames. Their plan: to spend a secluded summer month in a haze of inspiration and creativity. But by the time their stay is over, one woman has been shot dead while another has disappeared; a priceless heirloom is missing; and Edward Radcliffe’s life is in ruins.

Over one hundred and fifty years later, Elodie Winslow, a young archivist in London, uncovers a leather satchel containing two seemingly unrelated items: a sepia photograph of an arresting-looking woman in Victorian clothing, and an artist’s sketchbook containing the drawing of a twin-gabled house on the bend of a river.

Why does Birchwood Manor feel so familiar to Elodie? And who is the beautiful woman in the photograph? Will she ever give up her secrets?

Told by multiple voices across time, The Clockmaker’s Daughter is a story of murder, mystery, and thievery, of art, love and loss. And flowing through its pages like a river, is the voice of a woman who stands outside time, whose name has been forgotten by history, but who has watched it all unfold: Birdie Bell, the clockmaker’s daughter.

GET A COPY

  • Kindle Store
  • The Book Besties

  • For more thoughts on this beautiful story please visit the Besties blogs 💜

Holly @Dressed to Read

Book friends are the best friends! Berit☀️✨

Posted in Blog Tour

The Christmas Café at Seashell Cove by Karen Clarke @karenclarke123 @bookouture #bookreview

77 days until Christmas!!!🤶

Another Christmas book I had the pleasure to review, this book has a lot of love and a little Christmas! Thank you so much too Noelle for my invitation and to Karen Clarke for her festive story🎄

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas at the café at Seashell Cove, where there’s hot chocolate to keep you warm – and the man of your dreams could be waiting…

Interior designer Tilly Campbell loves being carefree and single. But her latest job is redecorating the cosy local café for a Christmas party, and when her friends confess their plans for the big night – including a proposal, a declaration of love and a pregnancy announcement – Tilly starts to wonder if she might be missing out…

Transforming the café into a winter wonderland is more of a challenge than she thought, so when she bumps into gorgeous newcomer Seth, Tilly welcomes the distraction. Seth is a single father, struggling to settle his son Jack into their new cottage, and Tilly is determined to help them make their house into a home in time for Christmas.

But with the café still in chaos just days before the party it looks like it’s going to be a Christmas to remember for all the wrong reasons… With friends old and new relying on her, can Tilly save the Christmas party?

And could she finally find love waiting for her under the mistletoe?

A heart-warming, hilarious read about friendship, family and the meaning of Christmas. Perfect for fans of Sue Moorcroft, Holly Martin and Debbie Johnson! 

My Thoughts

Fun, fluffy, and festive!

This is the third book in the Seashell Cove series, but it can absolutely be read as a standalone…. in fact I have only read the second book, time permitting I will get back to the first book and read Cassie’s story! This is really a story about love and friendship with some holiday cheer sprinkled in… so if you are a bit of a Scrooge and not a fan of Christmas books, I think this will work perfectly for you😉

This is Tilly’s story, but don’t fear we get plenty of glimpses into Meg’s life…. Tilley has taken on the job of turning the café into a winter wonderland, a bigger task than she had anticipated… after finding out all that is being revealed at the Christmas party she feels even more pressure, but will Tilly find a love of her own? Seth is new to town a single father with a young boy… A young boy that Tilly “saves” One day at the beach, and so Tilly and Seth meet! SO will the mistletoe do its magic???

I really liked Tilly from the previous book so I was happy to get her story… but wow she has quite the complicated relationship with her sister Bridget… not sure who was more grumpy and demanding Bridget or Seth’s mom Felicity? They both were acting like the Grinch that stole Christmas, their hearts were two sizes too small! Seth was a good guy and a good dad, he just needed to stand up to his mom…

This really was a will they? Won’t they? Love story full of laughter and heartwarming moments… Seth and Tilly both had some baggage, but Who doesn’t? A fun friends to lovers story with a holiday vibe🎄

Recommend to fans of romance, friendship, winter, and Cheer🥂

About the Author

Karen is the author of the popular BEACHSIDE and SEASHELL COVE series of romantic comedies, published by Bookouture. 

She’s also written three romcoms with a paranormal twist, all available to download

When she’s not working on her novels, Karen writes short stories for women’s magazines and has had over three hundred published globally. Some of them can be read in her short story collection ‘BEHIND CLOSED DOORS…and other Tales with a Twist’ 

Karen lives in Buckinghamshire with her husband and three grown-up children, and when she’s not writing loves reading, walking, baking and eating cake.

 

 

Author Social Media Links: 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/karen.clarke.5682

Twitter:     https://twitter.com/karenclarke123

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/dashboard

Website: http://writewritingwritten.blogspot.co.uk/

Available now!

BUY LINKS:

Amazon:    http://geni.us/TCCaSCSocial  iBookstore: https://tinyurl.com/ydecq5fmKobo: https://tinyurl.com/y9at7s2mGoogleplay: https://tinyurl.com/ybek3oq9    

 

He’ll be here before you know!🎅🏻 berit☀️✨

Posted in Blog Tour

Something Wicked by Kerry Wilkinson @kerrywk @bookouture #bookreview

Happy Tuesday all!

Thrilled to be on the blog tour for the US release of the first book in the Andrew Hunter series! A huge thank you to Noelle for my invitation and to Kerry Wilkinson for his wicked words!🖤

Description:

Andrew Hunter is plagued by guilt. His only escape is work, where it fuels his need to help others find those they’ve lost.

Elaine Carr’s son, Nicholas, disappeared in the dense woods near his home. He hasn’t been seen since, and she’s falling apart.

Andrew suspects Nicholas is alive, but in grave danger. He wants to know how no one in the small town of Prestwich has any answers. Why the teenager’s girlfriend is so cagey, and to get a proper look at the tattoo on her wrist. And as he follows the trail of an unsettling clue found in the boy’s bedroom, he begins to wonder if the case is connected to one buried in the past.

Can Andrew find Nicholas alive, or is he already too late to save him?

A gripping thriller full of shocking twists that will have you hooked! If you like L.J. Ross, Mark Edwards or Rachel Caine, you’ll love Something Wicked!

My Thoughts

Kerry Wilkinson has fast become an auto-download for me!

This is the first book in the Andrew hunter series, a series new to the US, but previously released in the UK… Andrew doesn’t need to work he has chosen to be a PI to keep busy…. Jenny his assistant is a quirky straightforward character with some empathy issues… not sure what it was? could have just been the PI thing or the male/female thing, but something about this reminded me of the television show “Moonlighting“…. but then Andrew and Jenny would eventually get together, not sure about that?!?!

Richard’s son Nicholas disappeared almost a year ago… all that was ever found were three of his fingers…. The police have given up due to the lack of leads, that’s when Richard employees Andrew…. The case takes you places you don’t want to go when it comes to a missing 18-year-old, including The occult… The investigation was fast paced, dark, intense, and ultimately surprising….

The perfect start to a new series that I recommend to fans of crime thrillers who like a little humor woven in…

*** many thanks to Bookouture for my copy of this book ***

About the Author

Kerry Wilkinson has had No.1 bestsellers in the UK, Canada, South Africa and Singapore, as well as top-five books in Australia. He has also written two top-20 thrillers in the United States.

As well as his million-selling Jessica Daniel series, Kerry has written the Silver Blackthorn trilogy – a fantasy-adventure serial for young adults – a second crime series featuring private investigator Andrew Hunter, plus numerous standalone novels. He has been published around the world in more than a dozen languages.

Originally from the county of Somerset, Kerry has spent far too long living in the north of England, picking up words like ‘barm’ and ‘ginnel’.

When he’s short of ideas, he rides his bike or bakes cakes. When he’s not, he writes it all down.

Author Social Media Links:

http://kerrywilkinson.com

http://facebook.com/KerryWilkinsonBooks

Available Now!

Buy Links:    https://tinyurl.com/y7c9zoen

Thanks for dropping by! Berit☀️✨