Posted in Audiobook Review, Fantasy, Mystery, Paranormal, Romance

Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris @RealCharlaine #JohannaParker #AudiobookReview #UrbanFantasy #Paranormal #Romance #Mystery

Hello from over here is a wet rainy UK!

I kind of knew what i was getting into with this one as I had watched the True Blood series on TV,  however I only watched about half of the first season, so I have no idea where it goes from there.

Why did I pick it up? – Well Urban Fantasy isn’t something that I would chose to pick up as a rule, but it was for a reading challenge, so I pulled up my big-girl panties and dove in, I’m so glad I did as I loved it!

Sookie Stackhouse is a waitress in a bar, she is very ordinary and has nothing special about her, well apart from the fact that she can read your mind and hear your thoughts!

She hates that she can do this, and tries her best not to, but it isn’t always that easy.

Now the town that she lives in is very open, in fact it is so open that they are OK with the fact that vampires live there, they keep themselves to themselves and there isn’t usually any trouble.

I loved the way that it is seemed as quite normal for Vampires to be living there, I mean they are not your normal neighbourly have-a-chat friendly type, but the world has grown used to these things now, Vampires can go into a local bar and have a beer, or a synthetically modified bottle of blood, and nobody really cares that much.

Bill is such a character, Sookie is drawn to him because unlike the others, she cannot hear his thoughts or read his mind, it is quiet for her for the first time, and she likes that.
They soon become friends and then more.

Her grandmother is horrified that she is seeing a vampire, until she meets Bill and is taken by is manors and how handsome he is.

With a mystery, and a few sub plots going on, I think that this is a series that I am going to really enjoy, there was lots of blood, violence and actually a nice love story.

🎧🎧 – Perfectly narrated by Johanna Parker, I just fell in love with her accent, the way she pronounces words was just beautiful, I’ve always been a sucker for a southern accent, and this made my heart swell with love for it even more

23281906

About the book

Dead Until Dark
Sookie Stackhouse Southern Vampire Mystery #1
By: Charlaine Harris
Narrated by: Johanna Parker
Series: Sookie Stackhouse, Book 1
Length: 9 hrs and 26 mins
Unabridged Audiobook
Release date: 10-08-09
Language: English
Publisher: Orion Publishing Group Limited

Sookie Stackhouse is a small-time cocktail waitress in small-town Louisiana. She’s quiet, keeps to herself, and doesn’t get out much – not because she’s not pretty – she’s a very cute bubbly blonde – or not interested in a social life. She really is…but Sookie’s got a bit of a disability. She can read minds.
And that doesn’t make her too dateable. And then along comes Bill: he’s tall, he’s dark and he’s handsome – and Sookie can’t ‘hear’ a word he’s thinking. He’s exactly the type of guy she’sbeen waiting all her life for. But Bill has a disability of his own: he’s fussy about his food, he doesn’t like suntans, and he’s never around during the day….Yep, Bill’s a vampire.
Worse than that, he hangs with a seriously creepy crowd, with a reputation for trouble – of the murderous kind. And then one of Sookie’s colleagues at the bar is killed, and it’s beginning to look like Sookie might be the next victim….

Happy Reading

Lets Connect!

Goodreads

Twitter

Instagram

Come and join our Facebook Group

Vicci

 

Posted in Blog Tour

Running in Circles by Claire Gray @SapereBooks #bookreview #runningincircles

Happy Monday book lovers!

Today is Presidents’ Day in the US and most of us have the day off work! Excited to share with you my review for this thriller that I thoroughly enjoyed!💜

My Thoughts

Extra Extra Read All About It!

This is the first book in the reporter Lucy Lewis thriller series… I really enjoy books with journalist emcees… throw in a beautiful setting, a suspicious character and a bombing, and I was hooked!

Lucy works on a small island in Thailand, it is basically a tourist destination with not much “real news“ to report… then one day there is a bombing with multiple casualties and Lucy decides it is time to Don her true reporter cap… along with the help of her editor Steve and after a wealthy connected character goes missing, Lucy is thrust full force into this investigation… running in circles, indeed…

This book set the stage for the start to a good series… Lucy is a likable character, and I liked her friendship with Steve… The setting of Thailand added a little more something something to the story The mystery was well paced, definitely kept you guessing until the very end…. the reveal was I think on the last page?

This was a good start to what looks like a potentially a wonderful series!

*** many thanks to Sapere for my copy of this book ***

About the Book

An international thriller with a shocking conclusion! Perfect for fans of Patricia Gibney, L J Ross, C L Taylor and Angela Marsons… 

You can’t outrun murder… 

When Lucy Lewis landed herself a reporting job on an idyllic Thai island, she thought she’d found paradise. 

But one day her dream turns into a nightmare… 

A bomb goes off outside her hostel and there is more than one fatality. 

Although the local paper she works for is mainly a tourist guide, the phone is soon ringing off the hook with people desperate to hear news of their loved ones. 

Together with her editor, Steve Boyd, Lucy finds herself drawn into the investigation. 

And things become more complicated when the dead body of someone connected to the paper washes up on the shore. 

Was the bomb planted by terrorists? Are the two incidents connected? 

About the Book

Claire Gray – Writer Bio

Claire Gray lives in the South Lakes with her husband and two small children. She studied Creative Writing at the Cumbria Institute of the Arts, which no longer exists, having been absorbed by the University of Cumbria. She graduated in 2006 and then went on to complete a journalism course at Darlington College.

That same year, she won a Northern Promise Award from New Writing North, and her work was featured in their anthology, entitled Ten Years On. Claire now works as a freelance copywriter and continues to write short stories, some of which have been published in magazines and online.

Recently, she has been guest editor for the prose section of SpeakEasy Magazine, which showcases Cumbrian writing. In 2015, she received editing advice from The Literary Consultancy through their Free Read scheme. They felt that her manuscript, Running in Circles, showed potential, and began approaching literary professionals on Claire’s behalf. Sapere Books published Running in Circles in 2019 and Claire is really excited to have published her first novel!

Let’s Connect

Instagram|

Goodreads|

Twitter|

Have

Berit☀️✨