Posted in Blog Tour

Running in Circles by Claire Gray @SapereBooks #bookreview #runningincircles

Happy Monday book lovers!

Today is Presidents’ Day in the US and most of us have the day off work! Excited to share with you my review for this thriller that I thoroughly enjoyed!💜

My Thoughts

Extra Extra Read All About It!

This is the first book in the reporter Lucy Lewis thriller series… I really enjoy books with journalist emcees… throw in a beautiful setting, a suspicious character and a bombing, and I was hooked!

Lucy works on a small island in Thailand, it is basically a tourist destination with not much “real news“ to report… then one day there is a bombing with multiple casualties and Lucy decides it is time to Don her true reporter cap… along with the help of her editor Steve and after a wealthy connected character goes missing, Lucy is thrust full force into this investigation… running in circles, indeed…

This book set the stage for the start to a good series… Lucy is a likable character, and I liked her friendship with Steve… The setting of Thailand added a little more something something to the story The mystery was well paced, definitely kept you guessing until the very end…. the reveal was I think on the last page?

This was a good start to what looks like a potentially a wonderful series!

*** many thanks to Sapere for my copy of this book ***

About the Book

An international thriller with a shocking conclusion! Perfect for fans of Patricia Gibney, L J Ross, C L Taylor and Angela Marsons… 

You can’t outrun murder… 

When Lucy Lewis landed herself a reporting job on an idyllic Thai island, she thought she’d found paradise. 

But one day her dream turns into a nightmare… 

A bomb goes off outside her hostel and there is more than one fatality. 

Although the local paper she works for is mainly a tourist guide, the phone is soon ringing off the hook with people desperate to hear news of their loved ones. 

Together with her editor, Steve Boyd, Lucy finds herself drawn into the investigation. 

And things become more complicated when the dead body of someone connected to the paper washes up on the shore. 

Was the bomb planted by terrorists? Are the two incidents connected? 

About the Book

Claire Gray – Writer Bio

Claire Gray lives in the South Lakes with her husband and two small children. She studied Creative Writing at the Cumbria Institute of the Arts, which no longer exists, having been absorbed by the University of Cumbria. She graduated in 2006 and then went on to complete a journalism course at Darlington College.

That same year, she won a Northern Promise Award from New Writing North, and her work was featured in their anthology, entitled Ten Years On. Claire now works as a freelance copywriter and continues to write short stories, some of which have been published in magazines and online.

Recently, she has been guest editor for the prose section of SpeakEasy Magazine, which showcases Cumbrian writing. In 2015, she received editing advice from The Literary Consultancy through their Free Read scheme. They felt that her manuscript, Running in Circles, showed potential, and began approaching literary professionals on Claire’s behalf. Sapere Books published Running in Circles in 2019 and Claire is really excited to have published her first novel!

Let’s Connect

Instagram|

Goodreads|

Twitter|

Have

Berit☀️✨

Author:

We are Berit and Vicci... two girls from different parts of the world who were brought together by Goodreads and a love of all things books 💕📚

9 thoughts on “Running in Circles by Claire Gray @SapereBooks #bookreview #runningincircles

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s