Posted in Blog Tour

Knowing You by Samantha Tonge @SamTongeWriter @rararesources #bookreview #knowingyou

Happy Thursday bibliophiles

Excited to share with you today my review for this delightful book! Huge thank you to Rachel for my invitation to the tour and to Samantha for your lovely words!🌹

Knowing You

An abrupt change; a new friendship; a dark secret…

 Kind-hearted Violet has never fitted in, but despite being bullied at school is now content. She is dating ambitious Lenny, has her dream job in publishing and runs a book club at the local retirement home.

 

However, when her relationship with Lenny begins to falter, Violet, hurt and alone, seeks the advice of her new flatmate, Bella. She changes her image and with her head held high aims to show that she doesn’t need Lenny in her life to be happy and successful.

 

Her long-term friends Mable and Farah worry about Bella’s influence and slowly Violet starts to distance herself from them. When she was a child, her closest confidant and companion was a boy called Flint. Her mother didn’t approve of their closeness and he suffered a terrible end. She won’t let the same thing happen to Bella, no matter what anyone says…

 

Knowing You is about friendship and knowing who to trust with your deepest secrets; it’s about taking control of your life and not being afraid to stand out. Perfect for fans of Ruth Hogan, Gail Honeyman and Amanda Prowse

My Thoughts

This was a compelling read packed with friendship, emotion, and depth!

This book was women’s fiction older wiser more jaded sister. A Book that starts with a whisper and ends in a scream! this was almost 2 books in one. The first half was light fluffy reading and then BAM things went a little sideways got a little dark a little deep. Sam Tonge Took on some serious topics in this book and she took them head on. She handled them with compassion and heart.

Violet has a pretty good life she works in publishing, has good Friends, and a loving boyfriend Lenny. When Lenny and she break up Violet is a little lost but she still has her lovely friends. When Bella her flatmate enters the picture that’s when things get a little wild in this book. Bella encourages Violet to change her image, but is Violet becoming the woman she was always meant to be? Or a completely different person? Not going to say any more than that this is a book best gone into with minimal knowledge, I had no idea what I was in for but I soon found out I was in for a treat! A treat with a side of oh no she didn’t!

The story jumps back-and-forth between 2001 and present and really gives you a comprehensive look into Violet’s life. Life has not always been easy for Violet and learning about her past really gave you an understanding of her present. I really liked Violet, I found her charming, kind, and sweet. Her friends were sweet and supportive and I really enjoyed the bond between all of them. This really is a book about self discovery and self acceptance something that is easier said than done.

This is a well told engaging story that will take you places you won’t be expecting to go! Recommend!

Purchase Links

Amazon – https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07MX87BH1/?_encoding=UTF8&camp=1634&creative=6738&linkCode=ur2&tag=canelo-21

Apple – https://geo.itunes.apple.com/gb/book/knowing-you/id1449854707?mt=11&uo=8&at=1000l5Q7

Google – https://play.google.com/store/books/details?id=aRiEDwAAQBAJ

Kobo – https://www.kobo.com/gb/en/ebook/knowing-you-6

About Samantha Tonge

Samantha Tonge lives in Manchester UK and her passion, second to spending time with her husband and children, is writing. She studied German and French at university and has worked abroad, including a stint at Disneyland Paris. She has travelled widely.

When not writing she passes her days cycling, baking and drinking coffee. Samantha has sold many dozens of short stories to women’s magazines.

In 2013, she landed a publishing deal for romantic comedy fiction with HQDigital at HarperCollins and in 2014, her bestselling debut novel, Doubting Abbey, was shortlisted for the Festival of Romantic Fiction best Ebook award. In 2015 her summer novel, Game of Scones, hit #5 in the UK Kindle chart and won the Love Stories Awards Best Romantic Ebook category.

Links

Twitter: https://twitter.com/SamTongeWriter

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SamanthaTongeAuthor

Website: http://samanthatonge.co.uk/

Thank you so much for dropping by! Have a wonderful day! Berit

Author:

We are Berit and Vicci... two girls from different parts of the world who were brought together by Goodreads and a love of all things books 💕📚

2 thoughts on “Knowing You by Samantha Tonge @SamTongeWriter @rararesources #bookreview #knowingyou

Leave a Reply to Berit@Audio Killed the Bookmark Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s