Posted in Blog Tour

Mama’s Gone (The Lagotti Family Book #4) by Leopold Borstinski #MamasGone #TheLagottiFamily #damppebblesblogtours

Hope you had a fantastic weekend!

Thrilled to share with you today my review for this book that is a little different from my usual reads, but it definitely kept me entertained. Many thanks to Emma for my invitation to this tour!🖤

My Thoughts

This was a dark story about the mob, riddled with violence, sex, and drugs.

This is the fourth book in the series, but I had no problem reading it as a standalone. It was action-packed and kept me entertained throughout, even though this is not my usual reading preference. I do find the mob inner workings fascinating, but I think this book taking place pretty much in my backyard was a bit offputting? I’m just not sure if it rings true that there is any kind of mob like this in Los Angeles especially in the 90s, just saying. But it is fiction after all!

Mary Lou has been running the “family business“ since the 60s, but lately she’s become a little forgetful. Her second husband Bobby and daughter Alice are trying to scheme a way to have her hand over the business, meanwhile they are covering for her. Alice and Bobby are also trying to get Mary Lou’s son Frank involved, but he is more interested in womanizing and drugging. None of the characters in this book were terribly likable, but I guess that’s The nature of the beast. Although I do have to admit I liked Alice she was smart and seem to have a good head on her shoulders, and perhaps will take the family business in a positive way? Like any mob book there was quite a bit of violence and sex in the book, if this were a movie it would definitely be rated R.

I think this book will definitely appeal to fans of mob literature (if that’s a thing?) It was dark and gritty and raw! Not for the faint of heart, for sure!

*** many thanks too Damppebbles for my copy of this book ***

About the Book

Let’s Connect

Instagram|

Goodreads|

Twitter|

Have

Berit☀️✨

Happy

My Thoughts

About the Book

When children grow up, the parents must die

California gang leader Mary Lou has built a criminal empire while her adult children are desperate for their mother’s attention and love. 

As her mental faculties wane, Alice and Frank Jr must acknowledge their mother is not the woman she once was and that they need to step up and take the helm, despite the stark differences between them. 

But their sibling rivalry blinds both of them to their weaknesses which threatens the family when the Russian mob moves into the state. How can they fend off those attacks while fighting to decide who will lead the family now their dear Mama’s gone?

About the Author

Leopold Borstinski is an independent author whose past careers have included financial journalism, business management of financial software companies, consulting and product sales and marketing, as well as teaching.

There is nothing he likes better so he does as much nothing as he possibly can. He has travelled extensively in Europe and the US and has visited Asia on several occasions. Leopold holds a Philosophy degree and tries not to drop it too often.

He lives near London and is married with one wife, one child and no pets.

 

 

Social Media:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/borstinski

Facebook: www.facebook.com/LeoBorstinski

Website: http://www.leopoldborstinski.com/

Amazon Author Page:https://www.amazon.co.uk/l/B071ZZXZMR?_encoding=UTF8&redirectedFromKindleDbs=true&ref=dbs_p_ebk_r00_abau_000000&rfkd=1&shoppingPortalEnabled=true

 

 

Let’s Connect

Instagram|

Goodreads|

Twitter|

Have a Beautiful day!🌹

Berit☀️✨

Posted in Book Bestie Approved

American Princess by Stephanie Marie Thornton @StephMThornton @BerkleyPub #bookreview #bookbestiesamericanprincess #anericanprincess

Happy Sunday bibliophiles!

Thrilled to share with you today my review for this wonderful book!I thoroughly enjoyed this historical fiction novel about Alice Roosevelt the daughter of Theodore Roosevelt, I love when I learn as I read!🌹

My Thoughts

Alice Roosevelt, daughter of the president, wife of the Speaker of the House, mistress of a Senator… america’s princess!

This was a compelling book about a remarkable woman! Alice Roosevelt was bold and brash and blunt. She realized in order for A woman to be noticed in Washington she needed to shake things up, so shake things up she did! From smoking on the White House roof to publicly opposing her cousin FDR when he was running for president. Alice was always marching to the beat of her own darn drum!

Alice’s 96 years were filled with triumph, heartbreak, politics, tragedy, scandal, and love. She was a strong and smart woman, well ahead of her time. At one point in this book Helen Taft the wife of William Taft, told Alice that it was a woman’s only job to make sure her husband was happy. This was something that Alice absolutely did not prescribed to. She had tenuous marriage to a congressman Nick Longworth, who later became the speaker of the house. But she never lost sight of who she was or what she stood for. She was never afraid to voice her opinion, in fact she strongly opposed FDR when he was running for president. Despite the fact that Eleanor and her were raised together, there was no love lost between these two ladies.

Alice was a amazing and memorable person. I enjoyed every minute I spent reading this book Learning about Alice and what part she played in America’s history. I also now admire, respect, and adore her. Could not help but wonder how all of this would have played out today with all the social media the instant information? So much scandal that they seem to be able to keep from the public, I wonder if that could possibly happen today?

This was a fabulous book about a fascinating woman that I am so grateful to have learned more about! There really is nothing better than a book that teaches you something you didn’t already know. Absolutely recommend!

*** many thanks to Berkley for my copy of this book ***

About the Book

“Presidential darling, America’s sweetheart, national rebel: Teddy Roosevelt’s swashbuckling daughter Alice springs to life in this raucous anthem to a remarkable woman.” (Kate Quinn, New York Times best-selling author of The Alice Network)
A sweeping novel from renowned author Stephanie Marie Thornton….
Alice may be the president’s daughter, but she’s nobody’s darling. As bold as her signature color Alice Blue, the gum-chewing, cigarette-smoking, poker-playing first daughter discovers that the only way for a woman to stand out in Washington is to make waves – oceans of them. With the canny sophistication of the savviest politician on the Hill, Alice uses her celebrity to her advantage, testing the limits of her power and the seductive thrill of political entanglements.
But Washington, DC, is rife with heartaches and betrayals, and when Alice falls hard for a smooth-talking congressman, it will take everything this rebel has to emerge triumphant and claim her place as an American icon. As Alice soldiers through the devastation of two world wars and brazens out a cutting feud with her famous Roosevelt cousins, it’s no wonder everyone in the capital refers to her as the Other Washington Monument – and Alice intends to outlast them all.

The Besties

Mackenzie @ PhDiva

Jennifer @ Tarheel Reader

Holly @ Dressed to Read

💕💕 Be sure to check out all the Besties’ reviews!

Let’s Connect!

Instagram|

Goodreads|

Twitter|

Have A spectacular day! 🌹

Berit☀️✨

Posted in Blog Tour

The Woman I Was Before by Kerry Fisher @KerryFSwayne @bookouture #bookreview #thewomaniwasbefore

Happy Sunday Book lovers!

Hope you are having a lovely weekend, it is spring break and all my kids are home and they all have the same exact week off, this has not happened in forever! Excited to share with you my review for this compelling book! Many thanks to Kim for my invitation to the tour and to Kerry Fisher for her lovely story!🦋

My Thoughts

A delicious domestic drama pact with fascinating characters and plenty of secrets!

Kerry Fisher as woven together a compelling tale with threads of secrets and lies. This book gives you a front row seat as the drama begins to unfold on Parkview Road. Beautiful new homes, bright shiny people, but what is really going on behind closed doors? In today’s world where so much is shared on social media, is anyone’s life as good as it appears to be on Instagram or Facebook?

Three women who appeared to be quite different on the outside, have all recently moved to Parkview Road. Kate and her daughter Daisy, are running from something a horrible mistake, but what is it? Gisela is living quite the glamorous life, but are things as glitzy as they appear? Sally has the ultimate marriage a love like no other, but how thick is that line between love and hate? Everyone has secrets, things they don’t want to share with the world, but what happens when these secrets are revealed?

The story is told from the perspectives of all three women, Kate, Gisele, and Sally. I felt as though all three of these women’s characters were extremely well drawn, and I think everyone will find one of these ladies relatable. I saw a little of myself in each of them. I had so much sympathy for these women as I watched their lives unravel as the secrets and lies were revealed. The story behind Kate and her daughter’s running kept me guessing the entire book… and I never got that right! I wouldn’t classify this as a thriller, but it sure was an addictive read! Recommend!

*** many thanks to Bookouture for my copy of this book ***

About the Book

A new home can be a happy ending. Or a fresh start. Or a hiding place…

Of all the emotions single mother Kate Jones feels as she walks into her brand new house on Parkview Road, hope is the most unexpected. She has changed her name and her daughter’s, and moved across the country to escape the single mistake that destroyed their lives.

Kate isn’t the only woman on the street starting afresh. Warm, whirlwind Gisela with her busy life and confident children, and sharp, composed Sally, with her spontaneous marriage and high-flying career, are the first new friends Kate has allowed herself in years. While she can’t help but envy their seemingly perfect lives, their friendship might help her leave her guilt behind.

Until one day, everything changes. Kate is called to the scene of a devastating car accident, the consequences of which will test everything the women thought they knew about each other, and themselves.

Can Kate stop her own secrets from unravelling, or was her hope for a new life in vain?

From the bestselling author of The Silent WifeThe Woman I Was Before is a book about the things we hide from those closest to us – and the terrible consequences that keeping those secrets can have. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Liane Moriarty and Diane Chamberlain.

About the Author

Kerry Fisher is the bestselling author of five novels, including The Silent Wife and The Secret Child. She was born in Peterborough, studied French and Italian at the University of Bath and spent several years living in Spain, Italy and Corsica. After returning to England to work as a journalist, she eventually abandoned real life stories for the secrets of fictional families. She now lives in Surrey with her husband, two teenage children and a naughty Lab/Schnauzer called Poppy.

Available Now!

Buy Links: 

Let’s Connect

Instagram|

Goodreads|

Twitter|

Have a wonderful Sunday!🦋

Berit☀️✨