Posted in Audiobook Review

The Summer Cottage by Viola Shipman @viola_shipman @blunder_woman @HarlequinBooks @HarperAudio #bookreview #audiobook #thesummercottage

Happy Thursday bibliophiles!

Excited to share with you today my review for this ultra charming story!🐚

My Thoughts

Rule#1: Leave Your Troubles at the Door. Rule#3 Nap Often. Rule#13 Everyone Must Be Present for Sunset.

A charming story bursting with sunsets and love. Viola Shipman Rights such delightful books filled with engaging characters and good vibes. Stories about The importance of family tradition and friendship. Tales that make you realize we are all forever tied to our loved ones that came before us.

Adie Lou has returned to her families summer cottage after divorcing her philandering husband, quitting her demanding job, and grieving the loss of her parents. Her plan is to turn the beloved summer cottage into a bed and breakfast, however this is not quite as easy as she thought it would be.(Where are the property brothers when you need them?) The cottage needs a lot of renovation, not to mention part of the property has been declared a historical monument. BUT Adie Lou not deterred! Even after her first weekend of demanding rude guess. Adie Lou decides to focus on the positive and what transpires is a lovely story full of hope and love.

Adie Lou was a compelling, likable, and relatable character. I admired her strength and tenacity. I loved watching her navigate her way through the cottage renovations and then navigate her way through love. Very sweet, a little sappy, The romance in this book is sure to make you smile. BUT this book is much more than a romance. It is about figuring out what really makes you happy and the magic of family traditions.

🎧🎧🎧 this book is narrated by Tanya Eby who did a stellar job as always! Something I want to give Miss EBy major props for is that she does a remarkable job with male voices. Seriously you forget that it is a female narrating. Another story I felt was enhanced by the listening experience!

Rule #14: Shake the Sand from Your Feet, But Never Shake the Memories of Our Summer Cottage. It Is Family!

*** huge thank you to Harper audio and Harlequin for my copies of this book ***

About the Book

“Every now and then a new voice in fiction arrives to completely charm, entertain and remind us what matters. Viola Shipman is that voice and The Summer Cottage is that absolutely irresistible and necessary novel.” (New York Times best-selling author Dorothea Benton Frank) 
From the best-selling author of The Charm Braceletand The Recipe Box comes the perfect summer escape about the restorative power of family tradition, small-town community, and the feel of sand between your toes. 
Adie Lou Kruger’s ex never understood her affection for what her parents called their Cozy Cottage, the charming, ramshackle summer home – complete with its own set of rules for relaxing – that she’s inherited on Lake Michigan. But despite the fact she’s facing a broken marriage and empty nest and that middle age is looming in the distance, memories of happy childhoods on the beach give her reason for hope. She’s determined not to let her husband’s affair with a grad student reduce her to a cliché or to waste one more minute in a career she doesn’t love, so it becomes clear what Adie Lou must do: rebuild her life and restore her cottage shingle by shingle, on her terms. 
But converting the beloved, weather-beaten structure into a bed-and-breakfast isn’t quite the efficient home-reno experience she’s seen on TV. Pushback from Saugatuck’s contentious preservation society, costly surprises, and demanding guests were not part of the plan. But as the cottage comes back to life, Adie Lou does, too, finding support in unexpected places and a new love story on the horizon. 

One cottage rule at a time, Adie Lou reclaims her own strength, history, and joy by rediscovering the magic in every sunset and sandcastle.

Let’s Connect

Instagram|

Goodreads|

Twitter|

Have

Berit☀️✨

Posted in Blog Tour

The Silver Ladies of Penny Lane by Dee MacDonald @DMacDonaldAuth @bookouture #bookreview #thesilverladiesofpennylane

Happy Thursday all!

Delighted to share with you today my review for this fun little gem! Thanks so much to Kim for my invitation to the tour and to Dee MacDonald for making me smile!🦋

My Thoughts

Dee MacDonald Rights delightful stories with engaging characters. This was a book that put a big smile on my face and swept me away into these characters lives. Tess and Orla we’re great characters and I enjoyed spending time with them. This was an upbeat heartwarming tale Full of heart and hope.

Tess and Orla are BFFs and own a dress shop for plus size women. Test the size she needs to make some changes before her daughter’s wedding including losing some weight and finding a date. Tess and Orla join a shady dating service and go on some pretty disastrous dates. There are some definite struggles when it comes to love and weight loss, but the friends are buy one another’s side. I really loved how supportive these ladies were of one another. I enjoyed watching Tess try to improve herself, but… I wish she could have come to realize she could do this without a man! Ugh too many times a woman improves her situation in a book by finding a man, I’m sure this is a personal pet peeve but still. I did however still truly enjoy this story, because these characters were so delightful.

An engaging story that will make you feel good! Live gloriously!

*** many thanks to Bookouture for my copy of this book ***

About the Book

Tess and Orla have been best friends throughout most of their adult lives. So when life gave them lemons and their loved ones let them down, they pooled their resources and bought a dressmakers shop on the corner of Penny Lane. And they’ve been doing just fine ever since.

But one day, while studying her tired eyes and shapeless figure in the mirror, sixty-two-year-old Tess realised that she doesn’t want her life to be just fine anymore. She wants it to be extraordinary. For as long as she can remember she’s put everyone else first. Now she wants to rediscover herself – and experience the kind of whirlwind adventure that will have the power make her smile when she’s confined to the armchair of a retirement home.

With the encouragement of fun-loving and quirky Orla, Tess joins an over-the-hill dating agency and the two friends book a singles cruise around the Mediterranean. And that’s when their adventure of a lifetime really begins…

A totally uplifting, heart-warming, hilarious page turner about embracing the moment, learning to love again and the joy of second chances. Perfect for fans of The Kicking the Bucket List and The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry.


About the Author

Dee MacDonald wrote her very first book – at around seven years of age! This was a love story which she duly illustrated before sewing all the pages together up one side. Writing was what she ‘was good at’ in school and she won several essay competitions, but then life got in the way and she didn’t pick up a pen again until after retirement.

Dee left Scotland and headed for London at the beginning of the swinging sixties. After typing her way round the West End she became an air stewardess on long haul routes with BA (then BOAC) for eight years. After that she did market research at Heathrow for both the government statistics and for BA, she became a sales rep., and was the receptionist at the Thames Television Studios in Teddington when they had the franchise.

She then ran a small B&B for ten years in Cornwall, where she lives with her husband. Dee has one son and two grandsons who live locally.

You can find Dee on Facebook at

Let’s Connect

Instagram|

Goodreads|

Twitter|

Have A glorious day!🌷

Berit☀️✨