Posted in Blog Tour

The Silver Ladies of Penny Lane by Dee MacDonald @DMacDonaldAuth @bookouture #bookreview #thesilverladiesofpennylane

Happy Thursday all!

Delighted to share with you today my review for this fun little gem! Thanks so much to Kim for my invitation to the tour and to Dee MacDonald for making me smile!🦋

My Thoughts

Dee MacDonald Rights delightful stories with engaging characters. This was a book that put a big smile on my face and swept me away into these characters lives. Tess and Orla we’re great characters and I enjoyed spending time with them. This was an upbeat heartwarming tale Full of heart and hope.

Tess and Orla are BFFs and own a dress shop for plus size women. Test the size she needs to make some changes before her daughter’s wedding including losing some weight and finding a date. Tess and Orla join a shady dating service and go on some pretty disastrous dates. There are some definite struggles when it comes to love and weight loss, but the friends are buy one another’s side. I really loved how supportive these ladies were of one another. I enjoyed watching Tess try to improve herself, but… I wish she could have come to realize she could do this without a man! Ugh too many times a woman improves her situation in a book by finding a man, I’m sure this is a personal pet peeve but still. I did however still truly enjoy this story, because these characters were so delightful.

An engaging story that will make you feel good! Live gloriously!

*** many thanks to Bookouture for my copy of this book ***

About the Book

Tess and Orla have been best friends throughout most of their adult lives. So when life gave them lemons and their loved ones let them down, they pooled their resources and bought a dressmakers shop on the corner of Penny Lane. And they’ve been doing just fine ever since.

But one day, while studying her tired eyes and shapeless figure in the mirror, sixty-two-year-old Tess realised that she doesn’t want her life to be just fine anymore. She wants it to be extraordinary. For as long as she can remember she’s put everyone else first. Now she wants to rediscover herself – and experience the kind of whirlwind adventure that will have the power make her smile when she’s confined to the armchair of a retirement home.

With the encouragement of fun-loving and quirky Orla, Tess joins an over-the-hill dating agency and the two friends book a singles cruise around the Mediterranean. And that’s when their adventure of a lifetime really begins…

A totally uplifting, heart-warming, hilarious page turner about embracing the moment, learning to love again and the joy of second chances. Perfect for fans of The Kicking the Bucket List and The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry.


About the Author

Dee MacDonald wrote her very first book – at around seven years of age! This was a love story which she duly illustrated before sewing all the pages together up one side. Writing was what she ‘was good at’ in school and she won several essay competitions, but then life got in the way and she didn’t pick up a pen again until after retirement.

Dee left Scotland and headed for London at the beginning of the swinging sixties. After typing her way round the West End she became an air stewardess on long haul routes with BA (then BOAC) for eight years. After that she did market research at Heathrow for both the government statistics and for BA, she became a sales rep., and was the receptionist at the Thames Television Studios in Teddington when they had the franchise.

She then ran a small B&B for ten years in Cornwall, where she lives with her husband. Dee has one son and two grandsons who live locally.

You can find Dee on Facebook at

Let’s Connect

Instagram|

Goodreads|

Twitter|

Have A glorious day!🌷

Berit☀️✨

Author:

We are Berit and Vicci... two girls from different parts of the world who were brought together by Goodreads and a love of all things books 💕📚

9 thoughts on “The Silver Ladies of Penny Lane by Dee MacDonald @DMacDonaldAuth @bookouture #bookreview #thesilverladiesofpennylane

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s