Posted in Blog Tour

The Summer Country by Lauren Willig @LaurenWillig @wmmorrowbooks @tlcbooktours @harperaudio #bookreview #audiobooks #thesummercountry

Happy Tuesday all!

Excited to share with you today my review for this wonderful book that completely captivated me! many thanks to Trish for my invitation to this tour.🏝

About The Summer Country

 

A brilliant, multigenerational saga in the tradition of THE THORN BIRDS and NORTH AND SOUTH, New York Timesbestselling historical novelist Lauren Willig delivers her biggest, boldest, and most ambitious novel yet—a sweeping Victorian epic of lost love, lies, jealousy, and rebellion set in colonial Barbados.

Barbados, 1854: Emily Dawson has always been the poor cousin in a prosperous English merchant clan– merely a vicar’s daughter, and a reform-minded vicar’s daughter, at that. Everyone knows that the family’s lucrative shipping business will go to her cousin, Adam, one day.  But when her grandfather dies, Emily receives an unexpected inheritance: Peverills, a sugar plantation in Barbados—a plantation her grandfather never told anyone he owned.

When Emily accompanies her cousin and his new wife to Barbados, she finds Peverills a burnt-out shell, reduced to ruins in 1816, when a rising of enslaved people sent the island up in flames. Rumors swirl around the derelict plantation; people whisper of ghosts.

Why would her practical-minded grandfather leave her a property in ruins?  Why are the neighboring plantation owners, the Davenants, so eager to acquire Peverills? The answer lies in the past— a tangled history of lies, greed, clandestine love, heartbreaking betrayal, and a bold bid for freedom.

THE SUMMER COUNTRY will beguile readers with its rendering of families, heartbreak, and the endurance of hope against all odds.

My Thoughts

𝔹𝕖𝕒𝕦𝕥𝕚𝕗𝕦𝕝 𝕤𝕖𝕥𝕥𝕚𝕟𝕘. 𝕃𝕠𝕧𝕖𝕝𝕪 𝕤𝕥𝕠𝕣𝕪 .

Lauren Willig will completely captivate you with this sweeping family saga. A beautiful story that spans over four decades. Steeped in family history, family secrets, and family ties. The story is set in Barbados and introduces you to two sets of characters living 40 years apart. 1850to Emily‘s beloved grandfather has passed away and left her a sugar plantation on the island of Barbados. So Emily travels from England to Barbados with her cousin Adam and his wife to check out this plantation that nobody had any idea of. What follows is Emily discovering family history and secrets with deep ties to Barbados. In 1812 Charles and Jenny find themselves in a torrid and forbidden love affair with great consequences. Two tales seamlessly woven together into one beautiful engaging story.

This book was clearly well researched and I learned something about a time and place I new little about previously. Slavery and the slave trade were a big part of life in Barbados in the early 1800s. I have to admit it was really disturbing to read about people referring to other people as their property and talking about leasing them out. The Cholera outbreak in the 1850s was not as disturbing but was equally as devastating. There was a large cast of characters in the story that took me a while to get straight, but once I did I was completely invested. The story jumped perfectly between time periods that were well marked.Lauren’s Willig’s exquisite storytelling will completely transport you to 19th century Barbados. A well told story full of interesting characters and an engaging plot. A sweeping tale that will appeal to all historical fiction lovers.

🎧🎧🎧 Micola Barber does an exceptional job narrating the audio of this book. So many accents that she completely Masters. The audio narration added another layer to this already exquisite story.

*** many thanks to Harper Audio and William Morrow for my copy of this book ***

Purchase Links

HarperCollins | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Amanda Suanne Photography

About Lauren Willig

Lauren Willig is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of several novels. She lives in New York City with her family.

Find out more about Lauren at her website, and connect with her on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Posted in Blog Tour

Valencia and Valentine by Suzy Krause @krausesuzy @tlcbooktours @luauthors @amazonpub #bookreview #valenciaandvalentine

Happy Tuesday everybody!

Today I have a review of this quirky little gem that I truly adored! A huge thank you to Lisa for my invitation to the tour.💕

My Thoughts

𝗤𝘂𝗶𝗿𝗸. 𝗖𝗵𝗮𝗿𝗺. 𝗛𝗲𝗮𝗿𝘁.

Suzy Krause’s debut is a quirky little gem. This is the story of Valencia, 35 A lonely debt collector who suffers from OCD. And Mrs. Valentine, 87 a lonely elderly lady who will talk to anyone telemarketers, funeral organizers, the lady who cleans her house. As both of these ladies’ stories unfold you will wonder what could possibly tie these tales together? This is such a character driven story, so full of quirk, charm, and heart. This is another book that is compared to Eleanor. While I can see how they came to this comparison I’d really like to see them stop doing this. Seriously books are still being compared to “Gone Girl”! So here is my comparison… this book is more like Eleanor then it is GG!

When I finish this book I said out loud (to nobody) damn that was good! This was a book that got better and better as the story progressed. I was more and more invested in Valencia and Mrs. Valentine’s lives as I turn the pages. Valencia had a very busy mind and we got a lot of her inner dialogue throughout this book. I really just wanted to reach through the pages give her a hug and tell her it’s all gonna be OK! Mrs. Valentine was so endearing and seem to have lead such a colorful life. Or did she? That was part of the charm of the story with both these narratives I was never quite sure what was truth, what was a lie, and what was a figment of the characters imagination. Reading this book really was like putting a puzzle together. It really didn’t make much sense and you couldn’t see the beauty of it until it was all pieced together.

A lovely tale you need to read with an open mind. The beginning of the story is a little convoluted, a little muddled.. But these characters are so endearing, so engaging, you can’t help but fall in love with them and want to know what happens in their lives. A delightful debut looking forward to what’s next from Suzy Krause.

*** many thanks to Lake Union for my copy of this book ***

About the Book

For readers of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine, debut author Suzy Krause delivers a quirky, colorful story about love, loss, second chances, and what it means to truly live.

Valencia, a timid debt collector with crippling OCD, is afraid of many things, but the two that scare her most are flying and turning thirty-five. To confront those fears, Valencia’s therapist suggests that she fly somewhere—anywhere—before her upcoming birthday. And as Valencia begins a telephone romance with a man from New York, she suddenly has a destination in mind. There’s only one problem—he might not actually exist.

Mrs. Valentine is an eccentric old woman desperate for company, be it from neighbors, telemarketers, or even the funeral director (when you’re her age, you go to a lot of funerals). So she’s thrilled when the new cleaning girl provides a listening ear for her life’s story—a tale of storybook love and incredible adventures around the world with her husband before his mysterious and sudden disappearance.

The stories of Valencia and Mrs. Valentine may at first appear to have nothing in common…but then again, nothing in life is as straightforward as it seems.

Purchase Links

Amazon | Books-A-Million | Barnes & Noble

Connect with Suzy

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Let’s Connect!

Instagram|

Goodreads|

Twitter|

Have a magnificent day!🌼

Berit☀️✨