Posted in Blog Tour

Maggie’s Ruse by Anne Leigh Parrish @tlcbooktours #bookreview

happy Thursday afternoon all!

double trouble! Have you ever wondered what it would be like to be a twin? This book really delved into the dynamics in the twin relationship.👭

My Thoughts

Have you ever wanted to be a twin? I always thought it would be fun someone to share your whole life with, A forever playmate a constant BFF. I imagine I have idealized this relationship, I’m certain there are difficult parts of this as well. Always being seen as part of a pair rather than an individual, trying to find your own path in life separate from your twin. This book was about identical twins Maggie and Marta The girls are now in their late 20s and trying to find their way in the world. They are both creative and have creative dreams one as an actress one as an artist. They also both have lived a pretty entitled life and that has carried over into adulthood. They are pretty much stereo typical millennials. One day Marta’s friend comes over and Maggie pretends to be her, and that sets into motion some major arguments and hurt feelings. This ultimately leads to Maggie moving out and then the twins struggling to find their way as separate individuals. This was a slower paced character driven story that really focused in on the relationship between the sisters, both as individuals and as twins. I didn’t necessarily care for either twin, although I found their journey during this book to be quite intriguing. If someone were to ask me what this book was about I would tell them twins and what that is like. There really isn’t much more to it than that, it was simple yet somehow compelling. A quirky little tale that kept me engaged throughout.

This book in emojis 🎭 🎨 👭

About the Book

Maggie and Marta Dugan, twenty-seven-year-old identical twins, live the good life in New York City on their stepfather’s money. Each has a glamorous calling. Maggie paints; Marta appears onstage. Success, though, eludes them. Marta’s roles are few and far between. Maggie’s endorsements are infrequent at best. When gallery after gallery passes on her work, she begins to doubt her talent. Home alone one afternoon, fueled by frustration, she is seized by a sudden, wild impulse to masquerade as Marta when a friend of hers drops by. The ruse is quickly discovered when Marta returns from another shopping spree, a rift between the sisters ensues, and they go their separate ways. But living apart proves harder than either thought at first. Each carries the other firmly within her, making any true independence nearly impossible. As the weeks pass, the weight of absence sometimes becomes difficult to bear. Both find a surprising degree of success in their respective efforts, due perhaps to their newfound freedom, yet the bond between them remains firm. Can they come back together, and under what circumstances would a reunion be viable? Has the time come for an open discussion of their issues with each other? Unable to fully answer these questions, each knows only that she needs the other to feel whole.

Purchase Links

Amazon | Books-A-Million | Barnes & Noble

Connect with Anne

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Let’s Connect

Instagram|

Goodreads|

Twitter|

Have a Beautiful day!🌻

Berit☀️✨

Posted in Blog Tour

The Poppy Wife by Caroline Scott @wmmorrowbooks @tlcbooktours #bookreview

happy Thursday all!

delighted to share with you today my review for this intriguing historical fiction novel.I love a historical fiction novel that makes you really think about parts

Of history you haven’t before.

My Thoughts

Caroline Scott’s debut is beautifully written, powerful, and intense. The book takes place primarily in France 1921 with flashbacks to 1917. A story about the aftermath of war, the sorrow and the devastation. The guilt and heartbreak felt by those left behind. This is a piece of history I have not read much about it was sobering to acknowledge the impact of war on both the land and human spirit. It was lovely and heart wrenching to see the hope inspired by the rebuilding of France, all I could think was in a couple decades they would be in the midst of war again.

This story was told from the alternating perspectives of Harry and Edie. Harry is the only one of three brothers to survive the war. He is now back in France working as a photographer taking pictures of soldier’s graves for their families. Edie was married to one of Harry’s brothers Francis. After receiving a mysterious photo she is convinced that Francis is alive and heads to France to find him. Harry and Eadie’s haves cross in France it is bittersweet. There is so much confusion, guilt, and history between the two of them, will discovering the truth about Francis bring them healing and closure? I was completely drawn into this riveting story. I had to know the fate of Francis and what had happened between Edie and Harry in the past. Scott’s vivid writing completely immersed me in Post WWI France. This book will appeal to all fans of historical fiction. It was raw. Real. And beautiful.

This book in emojis 📷 🚃 🇫🇷

*** Big thanks to William Morro for my copy of this book ***

About The Poppy Wife

• Paperback: 448 pages
• Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks (November 5, 2019)

In the tradition of Jennifer Robson and Hazel Gaynor, this unforgettable debut novel is a sweeping tale of forbidden love, profound loss, and the startling truth of the broken families left behind in the wake of World War I.

1921. Survivors of the Great War are desperately trying to piece together the fragments of their broken lives. While many have been reunited with their loved ones, Edie’s husband Francis has not come home. Francis is presumed to have been killed in action, but Edie believes he might still be alive.

Harry, Francis’s brother, was there the day Francis was wounded. He was certain it was a fatal wound—that he saw his brother die—but as time passes, Harry begins questioning his memory of what happened. Could Francis, like many soldiers, merely be lost and confused somewhere? Hired by grieving families, Harry returns to the Western Front to photograph gravesites. As he travels through battle-scarred France and Belgium gathering news for British wives and mothers, he searches for evidence of Francis.

When Edie receives a mysterious photograph of Francis, she is more convinced than ever he might still be alive. And so, she embarks on a journey in the hope of finding some trace of her husband. Is he truly gone? And if he isn’t, then why hasn’t he come home?

As Harry and Edie’s paths converge, they get closer to the truth about Francis and, as they do, are faced with the life-changing impact of the answers they discover.

Artful and incredibly moving, The Poppy Wife tells the unforgettable story of the soldiers lost amid the chaos and ruins, and those who were desperate to find them.

Purchase Links

HarperCollins | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

About Caroline Scott

Caroline Scott is a freelance writer and historian specializing in WWI and women’s history, with a PhD from Durham University. Born in the UK, Caroline currently resides in France. The Poppy Wife is partially inspired by her family history.of history you haven’t before.