Posted in Blog Tour

The Princess Plan by Julia London @HarlequinBooks #bookreview

Happy thanksgiving week all!

I’ve been on a bit of a royal kick! This book was a lot of fun, a fun flirty historical romance with a dash of mystery.👑

My Thoughts

This was a fun and flirty royal romance with a splash of Mystery. I’ve read a couple books lately about Royals and I’m thinking I’m just fine being a commoner! I certainly wouldn’t want all these rules and restrictions, although they seem to have loosened up a little as of late. But I also wouldn’t want people all up in my business either. This was the story of Eliza A smart and sassy 20 something year old, and the daughter of a judge. Eliza was thrilled as can be just to meet a prince and was willing to go out of her way to do so when she was invited to a royal event. Sebastion is the prince of a made up nation and first in line to the throne of said nation. He is in England to meet a wife and cement a treaty agreement. This book was about two people who are unsuited for one another meeting and trying to ignore their strong attraction.

I was thoroughly entertained by the story. Eliza was such a great character there was something about her that was so refreshing. Sebastion wasn’t too bad, and he definitely grew on me over the course of the book. Their connection was very sweet, there was some steam, but for the most part this was pretty closed door. The Mystery added another layer to this engaging story. The one thing I could see people being a little disappointed in is this is a historical romance and I don’t think the historical part was emphasize. I mean they wore corsets and drove in buggy’s, but other than that this probably could’ve been set in present day. Didn’t bother me, but I could see it not working for other people.

This book in emojis 👑 🏰 📰 ✒️

*** Big thanks to HQN for my copy of this book ***

About the Book

Princes have pomp and glory – not crushes on commoners 

Nothing gets the tongues of London’s high society wagging like a good scandal. And when the personal secretary of the visiting Prince Sebastian of Alucia is found murdered, it’s all anyone can talk about, including Eliza Tricklebank. Her unapologetic gossip gazette has benefited from an anonymous tip about the crime, prompting Sebastian to take an interest in playing detective – and an even greater interest in Eliza. 

With a trade deal on the line and mounting pressure to secure a noble bride, there’s nothing more salacious than a prince dallying with a commoner. Sebastian finds Eliza’s contrary manner as frustrating as it is seductive, but they’ll have to work together if they’re going to catch the culprit. And when things heat up behind closed doors, it’s the prince who’ll have to decide what comes first – his country or his heart.


Let’s Connect

Instagram|

Goodreads|

Twitter|

Have a Beautiful day!🌻

Berit☀️✨

Posted in Blog Tour

The Mother I Could Have Been by Kerry Fisher @bookouture #bookreview

Happy Sunday y’all!

There is finally a bit of a chill in the air here in Southern California! It was the perfect day to curl up with this emotional and compelling story!



My Thoughts

Kerry Fisher has written a thought-provoking and emotion evoking story. The book delves deep into the mother daughter relationship. Vicki has felt that her mothers love was more focused on her half siblings ever since they entered the picture. Determined to make a life for herself she heads to Greece where she meets William. William, seems to be the answer to all her problems, then she gets pregnant.Soon she finds herself living with his parents back in the UK. His mom seems to be elated about having a grandchild, but after Theo is born she is a little too involved. This leads to Vicky packing up and leaving, without a trace and without Theo. CARO is the mother of two adult children and rents out holiday cottages. Her relationship with her daughter India is quite contemptuous. When Vicky and Caro’s paths cross they form a bond that leads them to healing and forgiveness.

as a mother I had such a hard time with Vicky leaving little Theo behind. I tried not to judge and understand that she was insecure. I also understood that it would be tremendously difficult to have your child call his grandma mama and call you by your first name and to be scared of you. Why William did not stand up for her is beyond me, or even better why Vicky did not stand up for herself. But that leads back to the insecurity. Caro was a caring and loving mother with a daughter that can only be described as a total bitch. Her daughter India was such a piece of work, I cannot even imagine treating my mom that way or having my daughter treat me the way she treated her. There was so much miscommunication and unreasonable expectations in the story. Vicky’s relationship with her mother was heartbreaking as well. There were a few little twist and turns throughout the story, but this really was more of an emotional journey. I kept thinking what would I do in each of these mother’s situations? No easy answers. A beautifully told story with a satisfying ending.

This book in emojis. 🏖 🤰🏻 🐶

*** Big thanks to Bookouture for my gifted copy ***

About the Book

Why would you walk away from the one person you can’t live without?

As a child, Vicky Hall never had the sort of family she wanted. The least important person in her new step-family, ignored by her mother in favour of her two younger half-siblings, Vicky was always an afterthought. Sitting alone at her graduation ceremony at the age of twenty-one, she vows to create her own family and her own life, one which is full of the love and attention she has always craved.

When Vicky meets William and falls pregnant in Greece that summer, it isn’t planned. But the two of them believe they can make it work, showering their child with the love which they believe should be enough.

But when her son Theo is two, Vicky leaves him in the care of her mother-in-law, walks out of her front door and drives to a hotel where she takes a room for the night. She doesn’t return.

It’s unthinkable.

What kind of mother does that?

The kind who is hiding a story you can never imagine.

The Mother I Could Have Been is a heartbreaking story of impossible decisions and second chances, from the bestselling author of The Silent Wife and The Woman I Was Before. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Liane Moriarty and Diane Chamberlain.  

About the Author

Kerry Fisher is the bestselling author of five novels, including The Silent Wife and The Secret Child. She was born in Peterborough, studied French and Italian at the University of Bath and spent several years living in Spain, Italy and Corsica. After returning to England to work as a journalist, she eventually abandoned real life stories for the secrets of fictional families. She now lives in Surrey with her husband, two teenage children and a naughty Lab/Schnauzer called Poppy. 

Let’s Connect

Instagram|

Goodreads|

Twitter|

Have a Beautiful day!🌻

Berit☀️✨