Posted in Blog Tour

Out With the Ex in With the New by Sophie Renald @bookouture

Happy Sunday all!

I have loved every book I’ve read from Sophie Reynolds but seriously this is the best I have read yet! Fun flirty and full of humor!🧸

My Thoughts

This book was fun, flirty, and filled with whimsy! Gemma is 24 and at a bit of a crossroads in her life. She has finally landed a job after looking forever. Excited to share this news with her boyfriend Jack, who she is certain she will be moving in with soon, Gemma gets a bit of a shock. Jack has decided he’s going to tour the world and not with Gemma but rather his friend Olivia. So now Gemma finds her self finding a new place to live in London alone, and she finds a room in a house with a very interesting couple. Things get off to a bit of a rocky start. Gemma‘s dream writing job turns out to be Gemma writing quirky quips about cats. And then she gets a dear John letter from Jack. Gemma is devastated and takes to her Vlog to vent and gives the most epic break up spiel ever! What follows is a wild and crazy chain of events that will alter Gemma‘s life and perspective forever.

Gemma was a great character, I was cheering for the girl from first page to last! There was a lot in this book about vlogging and the YouTube culture and admittedly I don’t entirely understand it. My kids seem to watch a lot of YouTube and the attraction escapes me, why anyone would want to watch someone else playing video games is beyond me. I know there’s more to it than that, but I am definitely not of the YouTube generation. I did find it interesting, it’s crazy how well known these people are for skateboarding around their house. There was a lot more to this then YouTube parties, make up videos, and shopping. There were some heavier topics and I think they were incorporated into this lighter read very well. Something I truly did appreciate about this book was even though there were some romantic entanglements the story really was about Gemma finding her inner strength. My only tiny niggle with this book is it could’ve been edited down a little I think, but that’s very minor. All in all this was an entertaining book about an engaging character.

This book in emojis. 💅🏻 👛 🐱 🧸 🦋

*** Big thanks to Bookouture for my copy of this book ***

About the Book

Gemma didn’t expect her life to look like this. She’s still living with her mother, who steals her leggings and tells her off for leaving crumbs in the butter. After twenty failed interviews she thought she’d got her dream job as a journalist – except it turns out to be writing articles about cats that look like George Clooney. Luckily she has her wonderful boyfriend, Jack, to help her forget just how awful things are.

Then Jack dumps her out of the blue. With nothing but her childhood teddy bear, Stanley, and a whole heap of heartbreak, Gemma resolves to turn things around. She throws herself into her new job and soon she’s hanging out with cheeky, golden-haired hunk Charlie, eating in swanky restaurants and sipping trendy cocktails – and her old life seems like a distant memory.

But it’s not long until her shiny new world starts to lose its sparkle – and Gemma misses the days of wearing battered pink converse and eating peanut butter on toast in bed. Then Jack turns up, backpack in tow, and things start to go wrong with Charlie. ‘Out with the old, in with the new’, the saying goes. But what happens if neither one is quite right?

This laugh-out-loud romantic comedy is for anyone who’s ever cried their eyes out to love songs after a break-up or accidentally drunk-texted their ex. Fans of Sophie Kinsella and Lindsey Kelk will love this unmissable read which is all about falling in love with the most important person: yourself!

This book was previously published as the Truth About Gemma Grey.

About the Author

Sophie Ranald is the youngest of five sisters. She was born in Zimbabwe and lived in South Africa until an acute case of itchy feet brought her to London in her mid-20s. As an editor for a customer publishing agency, Sophie developed her fiction-writing skills describing holidays to places she’d never visited. In 2011, she decided to disregard all the good advice given to aspiring novelists and attempt to write full-time. After one false start, It Would Be Wrong to Steal My Sister’s Boyfriend (Wouldn’t It?) seemed to write itself. Her second, third and fourth novels followed. Sophie also writes for magazines and online about food, fashion, finance and running. She lives in south-east London with her amazing partner Hopi and Purrs, their adorable little cat. 

To find out about Sophie’s forthcoming releases and get access to free books and special offers, sign up to her newsletter at sophieranald.com or 

 

 

Author Social Media Links: 

Website: sophieranald.com

 

Twitter: @SophieRanald

 https://twitter.com/SophieRanald

 

Facebook: www.facebook.com/SophieRanald. 

 

 

Let’s Connect

Instagram|

Goodreads|

Twitter|

Have a Beautiful day!🌻

Berit☀️✨

Author:

We are Berit and Vicci... two girls from different parts of the world who were brought together by Goodreads and a love of all things books 💕📚

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s