Posted in Blog Tour

A New Life for Ariana Byrne by Liz Hurley @rararesources. *Book Review*

Happy hump day all!

This book you all was SO good! A true gem!💎

A New Life for Ariana Byrne

What happens after all your dreams come true?

Ariana Byrne knows how to survive. After becoming guardian to her four little sisters after their parents died when she was only eighteen, she had to grow up quickly. Now she’s in her twenties, stuck in a loveless marriage to Greg, trying to make ends meet for her young twins, William and Leo.

So when Ari is told that she’s actually the Right Honourable Lady de Foix, Countess of Hiverton, owner of a sprawling estate in the village of Saxburgh in Norfolk, her first instinct is laughter. Surely the girl who has to choose between food and keeping the lights on isn’t really rich beyond her wildest dreams?

She knows how to take care of her sisters and her children, but how on earth can Ari take care of an entire village? Can she fight off the circling land developers from Saxburgh, and stop her in-laws from grabbing all the money for themselves?

And while she’s struggling to settle in and settle down, she’s making new friends and new mistakes. Trusting her gorgeous neighbour, Sebastian Flint-Hyssop, may be the biggest one of all…

She’s swapped sink estate for country estate…but can a girl from inner city London learn how to become a Lady?

Take a trip to Hiverton Manor for the most uplifting novel of 2020 – guaranteed to put a smile on your face! Fans of Jenny Colgan, Trisha Ashley and Carole Matthews will love this romantic, feelgood read.

My Thoughts

What a fabulous little gem! This was a feel good, rags to riches, small town romance and I loved it! Ariana has had a hard life.. her parents were killed in a tragic accident when she was 18 and this left her in charge of her four younger sisters. She thought she had found true love with her boyfriend Greg, but after an unexpected pregnancy and the birth of twin boys she found out that Greg was no prince. Trapped in a loveless marriage and struggling to pay the bills Ari is shocked when she finds out that she has inherited a title, an estate, and a fortune. Ari is given an opportunity to leave her marriage and take her two little boys and head to the country and her new life. What follows is a delightful story about Ari adapting to her new circumstances. Not only has she inherited the title, but she has also inherited the reputation of her family and she is more than determined to shake that.

This book was so fun. I loved Ari she was such a great character that I could not help but cheer for. I love how devoted she was to her boys and to her sisters. She was also so spunky, strong, and smart when it came to dealing with all the things she had to deal with involving her new life. The romance in this book was sweet, but I thought it really took a backseat to everything else going on and that was perfect. Such an engaging story filled with fabulous characters! I will be anxiously awaiting the other sisters stories as promised in the letter from the author.

This book in emojis. 👩‍👦‍👦 💷 ☕️ ☔️ 🐶

*** Big thank you to Hera Books for my gifted copy of this book. All opinions are my own. ***

Purchase Links

AMZ: https://amzn.to/2NKQuAm

Kobo: http://bit.ly/2uPB0ob

Apple: https://apple.co/2RsuI5z

Author Bio –

When I grew up I wanted to be an underwater archaeologist or an astronaut but I ended up in a library. Everyone laughed as I’m not a naturally quiet person but I loved it. I went on to become a professional librarian for the money and the glamour. Not finding quite enough of either my husband and I set up a bookshop.  We didn’t find much there either so I started writing. Now I have loads of money and glamour but only in the pages of my books! In the meantime I dive and look at the stars.

Social Media Links –

Twitter: @hello_hurley

Facebook fan page: @theotherlizhurley

Instagram: @liz_hurley_writes

Author website: http://www.lizhurleywrites.com

Posted in Blog Tour

Five Wakes and a Wedding by Karen Ross @rararesources *Book Review*

Happy Tuesday everybody!

This was an engaging story with an interesting premise!🖤⚰️

Five Wakes And A Wedding

Undertaker Nina Sherwood is full of good advice. For example, never wear lip gloss when you’re scattering ashes.

Nina is your average 30-year-old with a steady job, a nice home – and dead bodies in her basement. As an undertaker, she often prefers the company of the dead to the living – they’re obliging, good listeners and take secrets to the grave.
 
Nina is on a one-woman mission to persuade her peers that passing on is just another part of life. But the residents of Primrose Hill are adamant that a funeral parlour is the last thing they need… and they will stop at nothing to close down her dearly beloved shop.
 
When Nina’s ‘big break’ funeral turns out to be a prank, it seems like it’s the final nail in the coffin for her new business. That is, until a (tall, dark and) mysterious investor shows up out of the blue, and she decides to take a leap of faith.
 
Because, after all, it’s her funeral…

The perfect antidote to all those books about weddings, this book will make you laugh until you cry, perfect for fans of Zara Stoneley’s Bridesmaids, Four Weddings and a Funeral and The Good Place.

My Thoughts

First of all that title!👏🏻 This was an entertaining story with an unusual premise. Nina Sherwood loses her job at a posh funeral parlor and tries to open up her own undertaking business in an up-and-coming part of London. The residence of Primrose we’re not having it, it gave all the wrong impressions of this newly transformed neighborhood. A lot of the story was about Nina convincing the locals that a funeral parlor will benefit everybody, because eventually we will all need to use it. A bit morbid, but true. At first I was having a hard time believing that people who live in a city the size of London would care one way or another, but then I remembered people like to complain about lots of things and I imagine it’s the same in the UK as it is in the US. But I honestly could not tell you where the nearest funeral parlor is around me. I’m sure there is one I live in a pretty big city, but I’d have to Google it (hopefully no time soon). There is some romance in the story as well, to contrast with the death theme. I’m still not sure how I feel about Nina‘s choice though? There were a few other secondary characters in the story that seem very interesting, I would’ve perhaps like them to have been be developed a little bit more. If Nina hadn’t been such a dynamic character, I definitely would not have liked this book as much as I did. All in all this was a clever little story.

This book in emojis. 🖤 ⚰️ ⚱️ 🏘

*** Big thank you to One More Chapter for my gifted copy of this book. All opinions are my own. ***

Purchase Links

UK – https://www.amazon.co.uk/Five-Wakes-Wedding-Karen-Ross-ebook/dp/B07NXYXFSB

US – https://www.amazon.com/Five-Wakes-Wedding-Karen-Ross-ebook/dp/B07NXYXFSB

Author Bio – As a former journalist, broadcaster and advertising copywriter, Karen Ross has followed a fairly traditional path into writing fiction. Five Wakes and a Wedding is her fourth book, and like its predecessors, the novel has two common threads: the setting is London’s Primrose Hill – Karen’s own neighbourhood – and one of the characters is a dog . . . this time he’s called Chopper and he’s almost the same size as a Shetland Pony

Karen has been self-employed for many years, and continues to work as a marketing consultant, in the absence of an offer to manage Tottenham Hotspur. By way of credentials, her other ‘job’ is trading profitably on the world’s first football stockmarket, a platform called Football Index, where you buy and sell players with real money.

Social Media Links – @ComedyKaren