Posted in Blog Tour

Five Wakes and a Wedding by Karen Ross @rararesources *Book Review*

Happy Tuesday everybody!

This was an engaging story with an interesting premise!🖤⚰️

Five Wakes And A Wedding

Undertaker Nina Sherwood is full of good advice. For example, never wear lip gloss when you’re scattering ashes.

Nina is your average 30-year-old with a steady job, a nice home – and dead bodies in her basement. As an undertaker, she often prefers the company of the dead to the living – they’re obliging, good listeners and take secrets to the grave.
 
Nina is on a one-woman mission to persuade her peers that passing on is just another part of life. But the residents of Primrose Hill are adamant that a funeral parlour is the last thing they need… and they will stop at nothing to close down her dearly beloved shop.
 
When Nina’s ‘big break’ funeral turns out to be a prank, it seems like it’s the final nail in the coffin for her new business. That is, until a (tall, dark and) mysterious investor shows up out of the blue, and she decides to take a leap of faith.
 
Because, after all, it’s her funeral…

The perfect antidote to all those books about weddings, this book will make you laugh until you cry, perfect for fans of Zara Stoneley’s Bridesmaids, Four Weddings and a Funeral and The Good Place.

My Thoughts

First of all that title!👏🏻 This was an entertaining story with an unusual premise. Nina Sherwood loses her job at a posh funeral parlor and tries to open up her own undertaking business in an up-and-coming part of London. The residence of Primrose we’re not having it, it gave all the wrong impressions of this newly transformed neighborhood. A lot of the story was about Nina convincing the locals that a funeral parlor will benefit everybody, because eventually we will all need to use it. A bit morbid, but true. At first I was having a hard time believing that people who live in a city the size of London would care one way or another, but then I remembered people like to complain about lots of things and I imagine it’s the same in the UK as it is in the US. But I honestly could not tell you where the nearest funeral parlor is around me. I’m sure there is one I live in a pretty big city, but I’d have to Google it (hopefully no time soon). There is some romance in the story as well, to contrast with the death theme. I’m still not sure how I feel about Nina‘s choice though? There were a few other secondary characters in the story that seem very interesting, I would’ve perhaps like them to have been be developed a little bit more. If Nina hadn’t been such a dynamic character, I definitely would not have liked this book as much as I did. All in all this was a clever little story.

This book in emojis. 🖤 ⚰️ ⚱️ 🏘

*** Big thank you to One More Chapter for my gifted copy of this book. All opinions are my own. ***

Purchase Links

UK – https://www.amazon.co.uk/Five-Wakes-Wedding-Karen-Ross-ebook/dp/B07NXYXFSB

US – https://www.amazon.com/Five-Wakes-Wedding-Karen-Ross-ebook/dp/B07NXYXFSB

Author Bio – As a former journalist, broadcaster and advertising copywriter, Karen Ross has followed a fairly traditional path into writing fiction. Five Wakes and a Wedding is her fourth book, and like its predecessors, the novel has two common threads: the setting is London’s Primrose Hill – Karen’s own neighbourhood – and one of the characters is a dog . . . this time he’s called Chopper and he’s almost the same size as a Shetland Pony

Karen has been self-employed for many years, and continues to work as a marketing consultant, in the absence of an offer to manage Tottenham Hotspur. By way of credentials, her other ‘job’ is trading profitably on the world’s first football stockmarket, a platform called Football Index, where you buy and sell players with real money.

Social Media Links – @ComedyKaren

Author:

We are Berit and Vicci... two girls from different parts of the world who were brought together by Goodreads and a love of all things books 💕📚

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s