Posted in Blog Tour

A Hope for Emily by Kate Hewitt @bookouture *Book Review*

Happy Friday all!

You guys this book was so good, but so heartbreaking!💔

My Thoughts

Poignant, thought provoking, heartwrenching, agonizing.This book left me completely shattered! Kate Hewitt’s books should come with a box of tissue and this one should have come with two! She really knows how to pull at the heartstrings. I felt so much for these characters their pain was palpable. Rachel’s five-year-old daughter Emily is in a coma, suffering from a degenerative neurological disease with no true diagnosis. Emily was born a healthy little girl who could walk and talk and play and laugh. Then at approximately 3 ½ she started having headaches and seizures. This led to countless doctors appointments and hospital visits. It also led to the unraveling of Rachel‘s marriage. But through it all Rachel stands strong and never gives up hope for her little girl.

As a mom I could not help but put myself in Rachel’s position, that’s what led to tears flowing down my face at 4:30 in the morning. How do you give up hope? How do you say goodbye? How do you let go? And then how do you MoveOn? The story is told from the perspectives of both Rachel and Eva who is Rachel‘s ex-husband‘s new wife. The bond that these women formed was remarkable. I’m not even certain I always 100% agreed with their actions, but the pole of motherhood is strong. This is one of those books that really makes you think, what would you do if you were in this situation? I don’t think however you could ever know how you would react unless you’re living it(and let’s hope none of us ever have to go through this). this was a beautifully told story about motherhood, friendship, tough choices, and above all hope.

Hope sees the invisible, feels the intangible, and achieves the impossible. Helen Keller

*** Big thank you to Bookouture for my gifted copy of this book. All opinions are my own. ***

About the Book

Looking back, I wish I could find my way back to that moment. I’d snatch it and hold onto it and live in it for the rest of my life, if I could. When Emily could still throw her arms around me. Oh God, just give me that moment, or one like it again. That’s all I want.

From the moment Emily was born, reaching out with her tiny little star-shaped hand towards her mother, blinking with long eyelashes over soft blue eyes, she became Rachel’s whole world.

But Rachel’s worst nightmare comes true when a rare auto-immune illness leaves five-year-old Emily in a coma the doctors say she may never come out of. And Rachel has to make a heartbreaking decision—one that her ex-husband, Emily’s dad James, doesn’t agree with.

Terrified she’s going to lose her daughter for good, Rachel knows she must find a way to keep the hope alive for Emily. But there is only one person she can turn to for help to convince James—his new wife, Eva.

As an unlikely but powerful friendship develops between the two women, both Rachel and Eva will have to ask themselves—what is truly the right choice for the tiny, fragile little girl who lies between them?

A beautiful story that will break your heart into a million pieces, perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Diane Chamberlain and Susan Lewis.  

About the Author

Kate Hewitt is the author of many romance and women’s fiction novels. A former New Yorker and now an American ex-pat, she lives in a small town on the Welsh border with her husband, five children, and their overly affectionate Golden Retriever. Whatever the genre, she enjoys telling stories that tackle real issues and touch people’s lives. 
Buying Links:
Google Play: http://bit.ly/39DnWBF

Let’s Connect

Instagram|

Goodreads|

Twitter|

Have a Beautiful day!🌻

Berit☀️✨

Author:

We are Berit and Vicci... two girls from different parts of the world who were brought together by Goodreads and a love of all things books 💕📚

2 thoughts on “A Hope for Emily by Kate Hewitt @bookouture *Book Review*

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s