Posted in Blog Tour

The Spare Bedroom by Elizabeth Neep **Book Review** @bookouture

Happy weekend book friends!

This book was so fun! A delightful romcom with a lesson.🏖

My Thoughts

SO much fun! Elizabeth Neep’s debut is uplifting and charming. An engaging romcom with a wonderful life lesson. Jess needed a fresh start so she packed her bags and headed to Australia. But her accommodations weren’t exactly what she was expecting. So when by some crazy coincidence she runs into her ex-boyfriend in a grocery store in Sydney she takes him up on his offer to stay in his spare bedroom. Jess is thinking perhaps they are destined to get back together, that is until she finds out he is living with his fiancé. Not wanting her life to look quite as tragic as it is Jess starts to spin some tales and tell some lies, that keep digging her into a deeper hole. Not to mention she is still kind of convinced that she and Sam will eventually get back together. What follows is a lighthearted fun story with some moments of truth.

This story was just tons of fun. Just what I needed a book to whisk me away to Australia and to deal with someone else’s Hot mess. Jess was likable and relatable, but boy did the girl make some big mistakes. There was so many times I wanted to reach through the pages and talk some sense to her. But I really think Jess had to live through all of this to come out of it with a good understanding. That’s what I liked most about this book, we really got to see what happened after everything hit the fan. A fun storyline, a beautiful setting, and engaging real characters. I am super excited to see what is up next from this debut author.

This book in emojis 🏖 🏄 💍 🎨 ☕️

*** Big thank you to Bookouture for my gifted copy of this book. All opinions are my own. ***

About the Book

**Listed Today**: Fun and friendly professional just arrived from London seeks room in central location, double bed preferred, ex-boyfriend optional extra.

Armed with a super-sized backpack full of optimism, Jess sets off in search of sun, sea and a much-needed new beginning.

Things don’t get off to a good start.

Instead of sunshine, she’s met with torrential rain. Her job prospects are as dismal as the weather and that friend-of-a-friend she was meant to stay with has fallen through. Just as Jess is homeless, jobless and wishing she’d gone for the waterproof mascara, she runs into the last person she expected to see. Sam. The ex she never got over. Jess always believed that one day fate would bring them back together. Now he’s here, more gorgeous than ever.

Before she knows it, Jess is accepting Sam’s offer to stay in his spare room. But while she may have been less than truthful about the mess she’s in, there is also one rather important thing Sam has neglected to mention.

Suddenly Jess isn’t just living with her ex, but with his new girlfriend too. All of that baggage she thought she left behind may have caught up with her…

A touching, funny and uplifting look at how finding and losing love can lead you to discover yourself along the way. Fans of Mhairi McFarlane, Sophie Kinsella and classic rom coms like My Best Friend’s Wedding will love Elizabeth Neep’s wit and warmth.  

About the Author

Elizabeth Neep was born in 1990 in Derbyshire and now lives in London Bridge. After studying Law at the University of Nottingham and the University of New South Wales, she worked in magazine journalism, most noticeably writing for Dazed and Confused and PETRIe. Elizabeth now works as a non-fiction Senior Commissioning Editor and writes and paints in her spare time. 
@elizabeth_neep
Buy Links:
Posted in Blog Tour

Chasing Moonbeams on Merriment Bay by Emily Harvale **Book Review** @rararesources @emilyharvale

Happy Saturday all!

Excited to share with you today my review for another book in this charming series!

My Thoughts

A cozy Romance sprinkled with a compelling mystery. Emily Harvale Has once again captured my heart with her magical storytelling. Delightful characters, a lovely setting, and a captivating story. This is part of the Merriment Bay series which is interconnected with the Winter House series. The book could possibly beread as a standalone, but I strongly encourage you to read the previous books in both series. This book continues the story of the Devin women. Three generations of strong women: Cat, Kyra, and Mary. The story also reveals a mystery hiding in the floors of Devon Manor. I know I’m being a bit vague but I don’t want to spoil this book or any of the previous books for anybody. Just know this is a charming story filled with whimsy, romance, Mystery, friendship, new beginnings, difficult choices, and above all family.

Once again I found myself completely swept up into the lives of these fabulous characters. It was nice to see Cat so happy. It was also nice to see Mary start to heal. And Kyra? Oh to be 18 again… completely understood why Cat was trying to steer her in a specific direction. But I do think Kyra is a smart girl and will ultimately make a wise choice. This book had a little more mystery to it then most of the others in the series and I thought that was clever and fun. Excited to see what Emily has up her sleeve for the next books in this delightful series.

*** Big thank you to Emily Harvale for my gifted copy of this book. All opinions are my own. ***

About the Author

Emily writes novels, novellas and short stories about friendship, family and falling in love. She loves a happy ending but knows that life doesn’t always go to plan. Her stories are sure to bring a smile to your face and a warmth to your heart.

Emily loves to connect with her readers and has a readers’ group in which many have become good friends. To catch up with Emily, find out about the group, or connect with her on social media, go to her website at http://www.emilyharvale.com.

Having lived and worked in London for several years, Emily returned to her home town of Hastings where she now writes full-time. She’s a member of the SoA and the RWA, an Amazon bestseller and a Kindle All Star. When not writing, she can be found enjoying the stunning East Sussex coast and countryside, or in a wine bar with friends, discussing life, love and the latest TV shows. Chocolate cake is often eaten. She dislikes housework almost as much as she dislikes anchovies – and will do anything to avoid both. Emily has two mischievous rescue cats that like to sprawl across her keyboard, regardless of whether Emily is typing on it, or not.

 

Social Media Links – https://www.facebook.com/emilyharvalewriter

https://www.twitter.com/emilyharvale

https://www.instagram.com/emilyharvale