Posted in Blog Tour

The Sister-in-Law by Sue Watson **Book Review** @bookouture

Happy Monday all!

Excited to share with you today my review for this tense thriller. Sue Watson has done it again!

My Thoughts

WOW this was deliciously twisted! Sue Watson has written one heck of an entertaining and addictive story with one of the most unlikable characters I think I’ve ever read. Clare thinks her upcoming family vacation will be a chance to rekindle things with her philandering husband Dan. Then her brother-in-law Jamie shows up with his new wife Ella. At first Claire is excited to befriend Ella, that is until Ella makes it clear that she is no friend to Claire. Secrets, lies, cutting remarks, manipulation, misdirection, twists, deceit.

Claire was a sympathetic character although sometimes I was hoping she wouldn’t be so easily manipulated by Ella. Ella, The girl seriously did not have a single redeeming quality. I could not figure out for the life of me what she had against Claire and the rest of the Taylor family. It was also so frustrating that no one else in the family seemed to be able to see Ella’s true side, or could they? And what was Ella holding over Claire? So many questions that had me furiously turning the pages of this book. and just when I thought I had figured everything out, there were several twists that proved me wrong. Well done Miss Watson!

This book in emojis 🍅 🍦 🌶 ☕️ 🍷 👙 🤳🏼

*** Big thank you to Bookouture for my gifted copy of this book. All opinions are my own. ***

About the Book

‘You don’t think Jamie and I have secrets, do you? No, we tell each other everything.’ She smiled. ‘Including your dirty little secret. So maybe it’s time to start being nice to me?’

THE WIFE: Clare is ready for a break. It’s been a tough year and now she wants to put her feet up. Arriving at the Italian villa for their summer holiday, she decides it’s high time her husband and his family did some of the work. After all, her husband owes her…

THE HUSBAND: Even though Dan had his head turned by someone else, he’s realised the error of his ways. He’s here now, and he says it’s for keeps. Clare can trust him, can’t she? At least he’ll have his brother there, to keep him in line…

THE BROTHER: Jamie is the prodigal child, back in the family fold again after years of travelling abroad. But when he gets to the villa, he’s not alone. He’s brought a wife, someone none of them have met before.

THE SISTER-IN-LAW: Ella is everything Clare isn’t. Glamorous. Young. Influential. But she knows a secret about Clare. Something that has the power to break the whole family apart.

And there’s someone who will do whatever it takes to make sure that this deep secret never comes to the surface.

An utterly unputdownable, gripping, twisty psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Before I Go To SleepThe Girl on the Train and Date Night. 

About the Author

Sue Watson was a TV Producer at the BBC until she wrote her first book and was hooked.

Now a USA Today bestselling author, Sue has written fifteen novels – many involving cake – which have been translated into several languages and involved tough ‘cake research.’ Sue is now exploring the darker side of life with her thrillers OUR LITTLE LIES, THE WOMAN NEXT DOOR, THE EMPTY NEST and THE SISTER-IN-LAW. Writing in this new genre doesn’t involve the deep research of baked goods and Sue’s hoping the change in direction will be reflected on the weighing scales.

Originally from Manchester, Sue now lives with her husband and teenage daughter in Worcestershire where much of her day is spent writing – okay, procrastinating, eating and watching ‘My 600lb Life,’ on the sofa.

more info visit Sue’s website; http://www.suewatsonbooks.com/

Sue would love to meet you on FaceBook at https://www.facebook.com/suewatsonbooks

Follow Sue on Twitter @suewatsonwriter  

Buy Links: