Posted in Blog Tour

As Greek as it Gets by Sue Roberts **Book Review** @bookouture

Happy Monday all!

I may not be able to leave my house, but I have gone so many places through all my books! This was such a fun book filled with sunshine, friends, and food!🏖

My Thoughts

Sun, sand, and wedding plans. Sue Roberts once again whisked me away to a gorgeous setting filled with fabulous characters. Alice is excited to be marrying her boyfriend Max, but she is getting stressed out about the wedding plans. The wedding seems to keep getting bigger and bigger. Not wanting to hurt her boyfriends generous heart Alice continues to bite her tongue. Her hen do, a girls week in Greece is just what Alice needs to relax and destress. But will time away from Macs make the heart grow fonder? Or will it be a case of out of sight out of mind? Sunbathing, wine drinking, good food, best friends, sightseeing, a jeep tour, parasailing, misunderstandings, and fun.

This was the perfect little getaway in the middle of this pandemic. I loved vacationing vicariously through Alice and her friends. The setting sounded absolutely gorgeous and the food sounded so divine. I also loved Alice’s friendships and even though there were a few little misunderstandings I appreciated how they worked things out. I also really liked how Alice and Max finally talked things out. Although I’m still not quite sure why Alice did not speak up sooner, Max was really a good guy with a huge heart. This was such a delightful book and I am so excited that I will be reading another fun romcom by Sue Roberts at the end of summer!

This book in emojis 🏖 🍷 🏝 🍹 💍

*** Big thank you to Bookouture for my gifted copy of this book. All opinions are my own. ***

About the Book

Let the hot Greek sun melt all your troubles away… A laugh-out-loud read full of warmth, joy and summer feeling!

Alice Clark is delighted when her boyfriend Max proposes. From her dead-end job to her straight-up-dead houseplants, her life hasn’t exactly turned out how she imagined, so she can’t wait to start some wedding planning.

But the intimate affair she imagined soon grows wildly out of control, along with Alice’s doubts. Just as things reach breaking point between the couple, Alice’s best friend whisks her away for an escape to a sun-kissed Greek island.

Sandy beaches, crystal clear waters and a cocktail – or three – and Alice soon finds herself letting loose and relaxing into the Greek way of life. When she visits a gorgeous village nestled in the hilltops overlooking the sea, and meets a friendly local woman with a very special business – and a very handsome son – Alice is surprised by how drawn she feels to these people and this life.

As the sun sets on her Greek holiday, Alice knows she has some big decisions to make. Will finding herself mean losing the life she had planned? Or could it be the start of something else entirely?

A feel-good read perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Jenny Colgan and Sophie Kinsella.  

About the Author

I live in Lancashire with my long term partner Derek and have had a lifelong love of writing, encouraged by winning a school writing competition at the age of 11.

I always assumed that ‘one day’ I would write a book, always having a busy household and a job, the idea remained firmly on the back burner but never forgotten.

The inspiration for my first novel came to me on a holiday to a Greek village. My daughters had left home and suddenly the time had come to write that book! 

Buy Links: