Posted in Blog Tour

The Book of Us by Andrea Michael **Book Review** @rararesources @onemorechapter

Hello book friends!

How’s everything going? Recently I’ve really been avoiding reading overly emotional books, so when I pick this one up I was a little concerned. However this book while emotional still was lighthearted.❤️

The Book of Us

The Book of Us is a story of the complexity of forgiveness and the friendships that change our lives forever. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Jojo Moyes and Diane Chamberlain.

We’ve got some important things to talk about. It’s time.

Cass and Loll used to be inseparable. They met at university and they made sense, like two halves of a whole. They had planned their lives around each other, writing down their dreams in The Big Book of Our Life – the things they wanted to achieve, the places they’d go after they finished university. But then one night changed everything.

Seven years later, Loll receives a letter from her old friend. The coming year will be the year they both turn 30, but Loll might be making it to 30 alone. Cass has cancer. Loll had believed she would have her whole life to come to terms with Cass’ betrayal, but time is running out. Cass’ final wish is to complete The Big Book of Our Life, but has enough time passed to heal old wounds?

My Thoughts

Uplifting and emotional. Andrea Michael has written a lovely story full of endless hope and heart. Cass and Loll were as close as friends could be. Inseparable in college they created “The Book of Us“ a list of all the things they were going to do together in their lifetime. Then something happened and their friendship fell apart and for seven years Cass and Loll did not see one another. When Cass discovers that she is sick she reaches out to repair the friendship. Can past trespasses be forgiven?

A touching story about the power of friendship, forgiveness, family, and love. Both Cass and Loll or hard to like and frustrated me at times. I still did enjoy the time I spent with them while they tried to piece their friendship back together. The star of this book for me really was Veronica, Cass’s Young daughter. She joined the ladies on their adventure and really was the absolute best. A sweet story with aN emotional ending. *have Kleenex handy*

*** Big thank you to Harper Collins UK for my gifted copy of this book. All opinions are my own. ***

Purchase Links

Amazon – https://amzn.to/2UOqpnW

Waterstones – https://t.co/8R8nkwzQKV?amp=1

Author Bio –

Andrea Michael writes books to explore complicated relationships. Having trained in using writing for therapy, she really believes in the magic of stories to change your life. Failing that, sparkling wine and obnoxious sing-a-longs also do the trick.

Andrea works in content marketing, and runs Writing for Wellbeing workshops. She lives in Hertfordshire with her fiancé and their crazy cat, and can be found reading in a comfy corner or digging something at the allotment.

You may also know her from her romantic comedies written as A L Michael.

Andrea is represented by Hayley Steed at Madeleine Milburn. The Book of Us is her thirteenth book. She’s hoping it’s lucky.

Social Media Links –

Twitter @almichael_

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/Andreamichaelwrites/

Instagram @andreamichaelwrites

Posted in Blog Tour

Sunshine and Second Chances by Kim Nash **Book Review** @KimtheBookworm

Hello book friends!

This was such a delightful feel good book about friendship, sunshine, and new starts.🏖

My Thoughts

Old friends, warm sun, good food, and lots of fun. Kim Nash has done it again! An uplifting heartwarming story packed with relatable characters. Liv, Deb, Samantha, and Fiona have been friends forever. Even though they don’t see one another that often they are honoring a pact they made when they were 21 and traveling to Portugal for a girls week to celebrate their 50th birthdays. Each woman has baggage that they will unpack during their getaway. Liv is married and the mother of two sons. She feels as though her family takes her for granted, she is overworked and under appreciated. Deb’s husband just left her for a younger woman PFP. Deb is a comfort eater and very insecure in her own skin. Samantha is dealing with grief and an adult son who she feels no longer needs her. Fiona is dealing with a mother with dementia and all the stress associated with taking care of an aging parent. All four women are in much need of some time away. Time spent with good friends, warm sunshine, and a GNT or five.

Wow this was probably one of the most relatable books I’ve read all year. Having just turned 50 myself a little over six months ago I related to each of these characters. I would have loved to join them for the week at this gorgeous villa in Portugal. I loved how like most old friends do these ladies picked up just where they left off. They were all so supportive of one another. I loved how they listen to one another, pushed when needed, but backed off when asked. I probably liked Liv and Deb’s stories best, but I think there was more focus on them as well. Also really liked the side story involving Mikey The guy that put the details of this perfect trip together. Sunbathing, yachts, golf lessons, shopping, Prosecco, catching up, romance, ladders, casinos, delicious dining, and so much more.

This book in emojis ☀️ 👯‍♀️ 👙 🛵 🍷 🎰

About the Book

It’s never too late to be offered a second chance at life.

Debs is newly single, Fiona is caring for her mum, Samantha is grieving, and Liv has the perfect life – or so she’d like her friends to think…This year, these four life-long friends are turning fifty, and Liv is determined they will honour their promise to each other – made on a beach at sunrise twenty-nine years before – to celebrate this milestone together.And what better place than a gorgeous villa where they will be spoiled and enjoy the stunning beaches, picturesque fishing towns and glorious climate of the Algarve?

But time away from home doesn’t always make the heart grow fonder. Sometimes it makes the thought of returning to your life too hard to bear. Especially with more than one gorgeous Portuguese man making hearts unexpectedly flutter…

It begins as a reunion in the sunshine, but little do the four friends know what life-changing decisions they’ll all be making before their flight home.

A heart-warming, feel-good summer read about friendship, love and second chances.

Purchase Links

About Kim


Kim Nash is an author of uplifting, funny, heartwarming, feel-good, romantic fiction.

She lives in Staffordshire with son Ollie and English Setter Roni, is Head of Publicity for Bookouture and is a book blogger at www.kimthebookworm.co.uk.

Kim won the Romantic Novelists Association’s Media Star of the Year in 2016, which she still can’t quite believe. She is now quite delighted to be a member of the RNA.

When she’s not working or writing, Kim can be found walking her dog, reading, standing on the sidelines of a football pitch cheering on Ollie and binge watching box sets on the TV. She’s also quite partial to a spa day and a gin and tonic (not at the same time!) Kim also runs a book club in Cannock, Staffs.

Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases. Your e-mail will not be shared with anyone else and you will only contacted about Kim’s books.
https://www.kimthebookworm.co.uk/

Amazing Grace was her debut novel with Hera Books and came out in April 2019.

Escape to Giddywell Grange is Kim’s second novel and was published in September 2019.

Sunshine and Second Chances is Kim’s third novel and will be published on June 4th 2020.

You can read Kim’s Blog here: www.kimthebookworm.co.uk

Connect with Kim on Social Media here:
Twitter: (@KimTheBookworm) https://twitter.com/KimTheBookworm
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/KimTheBookWorm/
Instagram: @Kim_the_bookworm

Have a gorgeous day! XOXO Berit🌊

Posted in Blog Tour

Growing Up For Beginners by Claire Calman **Book Review** @rararesources @boldwoodbooks

Happy Tuesday all!

Do you like a well told character driven story? Then do I have the book for you!

Growing Up For Beginners

It’s not easy being a grown-up, but at 47, Eleanor hoped she’d be better at it by now…

When Eleanor waves her daughter off for a gap-year trip, she finds herself stuck as a satellite wife, spinning in faithful orbit around her domineering husband, with only her clever but judgmental father Conrad for comfort.

Andrew isn’t mastering the art of growing up either. But when he finds his belongings dumped in bin bags on the drive, even he can see that his girlfriend is hinting he should move out. With no other options, he moves back in with his parents.

Backing onto their garden lives artist Cecilia, living in chaotic clutter and dreaming of her ex-lovers, still acting like a stroppy teenager at the age of 66.

Four lives are drawn together by long-buried secrets of the past, and it is time for them all to grow up… before it’s too late.

My thoughts

Quirky and complicated. Claire Calman has written an intricate character driven story. Multiple characters connected by a thin thread. Eleanor is a lovely lady married to a very despicable man named Roger. Not only was Roger a complete controlling jerk he also did the unthinkable, he cut out the last page of all Eleanor’s books? Can you imagine going to read a book and the last page is missing? Who does that? And there is Conrad, Eleanor‘s father who was in a loveless marriage himself, forsaking himself from his secret love. andrew works for Conrad he’s newly single and has recently moved home to live with his mother. Andrew’s mother is one of the most overbearing mothers ever. Andrew is dating Olivia, Cecelia‘s daughter. Cecelia is such a free spirit always telling stories to embarrass her daughters with her past escapades. Few that’s a lot of characters. And admittedly it was a little challenging to keep track of them all in the beginning. I also wasn’t sure how all of this was going to end up tying itself together, but it really did. There were characters to love, characters to hate, characters to frustrate, characters to confuse, characters to humor. I enjoyed getting to know all of these characters and found their lives and relationships interesting. The book also touched on so many different issues especially the relationship between parent and child and the many ways that can manifest itself. This was an emotional, thought provoking, and entertaining book.

*** Big thank you to Boldwood Books for my gifted copy of this book. All opinions are my own. ***

Purchase Link – https://amzn.to/2W6QeB4

Author Bio –

Claire Calman is a writer and broadcaster known for her novels that combine wit and pathos, including the bestseller Love is a Four-Letter Word. She has appeared on BBC Radio 4’s Woman’s Hour and Loose Ends.

Social Media Links –
Newsletter sign up: http://bit.ly/ClaireCalmanNewsletter

Have a beautiful day! XOXO Berit