Posted in Blog Tour

Someone Else’s Daughter by Jennifer Harvey **Book Review** @bookouture

Happy Sunday all!

This was a well done compelling debut! If you are a thriller lover this is a good one.

My Thoughts

Clever and addictive. Jennifer Harvey’s debut is compelling and compulsive. Isa’s parents are having marital problems so instead of joining her own family on vacation she heads to Montauk with her BFF Katie‘s family. Should be the perfect summer, sunny days on the beach with your best friend. But Isa and Katie’s friendship is far from perfect and the girls have some issues and secrets between them. Louise (Katie‘s mother) can sense somethings not right, but she doesn’t know how to approach the situation. The book starts off with the discovery of Isa’s body, and then pulls back to the events leading up to the tragedy. Told in the alternating perspectives of Katie and her mom Louise you get a interesting glimpse into the events of the summer. Katie is a sweet concerned friend and my heart really went out to her throughout this entire book. Isa was not very likable and definitely was not necessarily always a good friend to Katie. But I did think there was a lot of authenticity to how this teenage friendship was portrayed in the book. Louise was very relatable. Being the parent of teenagers is complicated, you want to give them enough room to make choices and yet you want them to make the right choices. Even though I didn’t always necessarily agree with Louises parenting choices I understood where she was coming from. This book completely sucked me in to the story. I really wanted to know what had happened to Isa. The characters were all so real and that made some of the events in the book even more disturbing. A riveting debut looking forward to what’s next from Miss Harvey.

*** Big thank you to Bookouture for my gifted copy of this book. All opinions are my own. ***

About the Book

They’d left their daughter with us, their only child, and we hadn’t protected her. That was all they would see when they looked at us—that we had failed them.

 

I count down the days until we can leave the city behind and return to the beach house. Where James and Katie can roam free over the dunes, like they did as children, and Peter will swap his 6 a.m.starts for the stacks of fluffy pancakes he lovingly serves up for our family breakfasts. These sun-drenched, golden days, just the four of us, are what I hold on to all year long.

 

But this summer Katie’s best friend will be coming with us. I tell myself the girls will have fun together, pushing aside the doubts I have about this uninvited guest. Isa. With her corn-silk hair and luminous skin, who manages to overshadow my daughter at every turn. Who has been dumped on us by her own parents, too caught up in their petty dramas to see what is right in front of them.

 

Because I can see it. There is something dangerous about Isa. Something more than a carefree girl, testing boundaries as she approaches adulthood. She threatens to cast storm clouds across my beach house days. I feel as powerless to stop her as I would in the face of a hurricane.

 

By the end of the summer, Isa will be dead. And I will have to face her mother. I don’t know if I will be able to find the words. How can I begin to explain that she never really knew her daughter at all?

 

A gripping story of the darkness than lurks beneath the surface of the most picture-perfect lives and the lengths we will go to protect the ones we love. Fans of Big Little Lies, Kerry Fisher and Diane Chamberlain will be held totally in thrall by this emotional, twisty read.

 

About the Author

 Jennifer Harvey is a Scottish writer now living in The Netherlands.

She is the author of three novels.

Someone Else’s Daughter will be published on June 18th 2020 with Bookouture.

Two more titles will follow in October 2020 and May 2021.

Her short stories have been published in numerous literary magazines in the US and the UK, such as Bare Fiction, Litro Online, Carve Magazine, Folio, and The Lonely Crowd.

She has been shortlisted for various short story prizes including the Bristol Prize, the University of Sunderland Short Story Award and the Bridport Prize. Her radio dramas have won prizes and commendations from the BBC World Service. She has been longlisted twice for the Bath Novel Award.

 

Author Social Media Links: 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/JenAnneHarvey1  (@JenAnneHarvey1) 

Website: http://www.jenharvey.net/

 

Author:

We are Berit and Vicci... two girls from different parts of the world who were brought together by Goodreads and a love of all things books 💕📚

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s