Posted in Blog Tour

The Sunset Sisters by Cecilia Lyra **Book Review** @bookouture

Hello my book friends!

Excited to share with you today this fun beach read with a splash of Mystery. Sun, sand, and secrets!🏖

My Thoughts

Sun, sand, and secrets. Cecilia Lyra has written a fun beach read with a splash of Mystery. Cassie and Julie are half-sisters sharing the same father. The sisters spent the summers of their childhood on the beach with their beloved grandmother. But then something happens to tear these two sisters apart. It is 15 years later and Cassie and Julie have not seen one another since the fateful event. At the reading of their grandmother’s will they find out that in order for them to inherit her lovely Beachhouse they must spend the summer together in the house. The sisters are quick to agree to the terms, but will they be able to heal the wound between them?

This was a heartwarming story with some unseen twists and secrets. I always love reading books about sisters specially because I don’t have one myself, it is a relationship that intrigues me. Cassie and Julie were quite different from one another and I have to admit that I favored Julie for most of the book. Julie was kind and caring almost to the point of her own detriment. Cassie on the other hand was strong, blunct and a bit prickly. I really loved how the story between the sisters unfolded throughout the book, it was perfectly paste. I was seriously so invested in the story, because I cared so much about these characters. I also really love the little fairytale element added in, gave the story even more sparkle.

This book in emojis 🏖 👭 🐚 ✨ ☀️

*** Big thank you to Bookouture for my gifted copy of this book. All opinions are my own. ***

About the Book

Two sisters. A surprising inheritance. A summer that changes everything.

As children, half-sisters Cassie and Julie were nearly inseparable, bonded through happy, lazy summers playing barefoot in the surf and sleeping out on the porch of their grandmother’s Hamptons beach house. Though from wildly different backgrounds, each magical summer the girls were as close as only best friends, accomplices, sisters can be. But they haven’t spoken in nearly fifteen years—not since the funeral of Cassie’s mother—and now there is only resentment and painful memories between them.

Successful and self-contained, Cassie is shocked to learn the requirements of their Nana’s will—that she and Julie spend one final summer together in the Hamptons house in order to inherit. Cassie agrees reluctantly, she needs an excuse to leave Boston and give the growing rumors about her personal life a chance to die down.

And for Julie, who is discovering too late the cracks in her marriage, it is the chance to repair at least one damaged relationship. But for the two sisters to regain what they had, they will have to finally confront what happened the night Cassie lost her mother. With their Nana’s wisdom guiding the way, could this summer bring painful discoveries, and a new direction, for both sisters?

An emotional and riveting novel full of family drama and dark secrets. Perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand, Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner.  

About the Author

Cecilia is an author with a reading addiction — a serious one. She is a lover of wine and all things chocolate, and the proud mother of Babaganoush, an English Bulldog. She is also a recovering lawyer, but asks that you do not hold that against her. 
Buy Links:

Amazon: https://bit.ly/37A7d2m

Google: https://bit.ly/37A7ylE

Have a lovely day! XOXO Berit 🐚

Author:

We are Berit and Vicci... two girls from different parts of the world who were brought together by Goodreads and a love of all things books 💕📚

2 thoughts on “The Sunset Sisters by Cecilia Lyra **Book Review** @bookouture

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s