Posted in Blog Tour

The Shore House by Heidi Hostetter **Book Review** @bookouture

Happy Tuesday all!

Loved this delightful beach read! See, sand, forgiveness, food, and family!🏖

My Thoughts

Sea. Sand. Family. Heidi Hostetter whisked me away to the Jersey shore with her vivid storytelling. A splashing story about family, forgiveness, food, and community. As the mother of adult children I completely related to Kaye and her desire to spend the summer making new memories with her adult children. Three years ago Kaye’s husband Chase had a heart attack and ever since Kaye has been super diligent. But this summer she wants some normalcy. A summer to never forget spent at the family‘s Beachhouse on the Jersey shore. Her daughter Stacey and son Bradley are less than thrilled about this but they are willing to go along to keep the family peace. Stacey has a doting husband, two adorable children and one on the way, but she is missing the buzz of her career. Bradley is still figuring things out, but one thing he knows is he is not living up to his father’s expectations. The family spends the summer getting to know one another again and healing old wounds.

I enjoyed spending time with this family in this charming seaside town. I probably found Kaye the most relatable character, but I did understand why she irritated her husband and children. Poor Chase The man was just trying to live and his well meaning wife was micromanaging everything. I really liked Stacey and her husband Ryan‘s relationship and how their story played out in the book. Bradley was another great character and I love the touching moments between his father and him. A lovely story about an authentic family, looking forward to future books in this series.

This book in emojis 🏖 🔨 📚 🍉 🌭 🎇 🦀

*** Big thank you to Bookouture for my gifted copy of this book. All opinions are my own. ***

About the Book

When the Bennett family arrive at the shore house to spend the summer together, they bring more baggage than just suitcases…

When Kaye Bennett, matriarch of the Bennett family, summons her adult children to the shore house, she anticipates a vacation full of nostalgia. It’s a chance to relive the carefree joy of summers past: basking in the hot sun, cooling off in the surf and enjoying long, relaxing evenings watching fireflies on the deck. But when Kaye’s son and daughter arrive, late and uncooperative, it becomes clear the family desperately need to reconnect.

Kaye and her daughter Stacy have been quietly at odds for years and resentment has grown around words unsaid. Faced with spending the summer months in such close quarters, Kaye is determined to remind Stacy of happier times and why she once loved their beautiful beachside home.

But both Kaye and Stacy are holding something back. And only when a heart-stopping accident on the beach puts what Stacy most loves at risk are the two women finally able to set free the secrets in their shared past.

Will opening up to each other about what’s in their hearts allow the Bennett family to finally heal? A story of love, forgiveness and the power of family bonds, The Shore House is a heartfelt summer read, perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand, Pamela Kelley and Nancy Thayer.  

About the Author

Heidi Hostetter grew up in New Jersey and spent summers at her grandparents’ house on the shore. Every magical thing was there, from sparklers and fireflies at night to whole days spent swimming in the ocean and exploring tide pools. She and her family have recently moved back to the DC-area and live in a one hundred-year-old house that’s definitely haunted.

When she’s not writing – or reading – you can probably find her digging in her garden, ripping back a knitting project, or burning dinner. Her writing partner, a labradoodle named Emmett shares her office, keeping a careful watch for errant squirrels and neighborhood shenanigans. 

@HeidiHostetter  
Buy Links:

Author:

We are Berit and Vicci... two girls from different parts of the world who were brought together by Goodreads and a love of all things books 💕📚

3 thoughts on “The Shore House by Heidi Hostetter **Book Review** @bookouture

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s