Posted in Blog Tour

The House at Magpie Cove by Kennedy Kerr **Book Review** @bookouture

Happy Wednesday all!

I am currently watching the election results come in and I am seriously sick to my stomach. Hopefully when y’all are reading this I’m happy American, but right now I am a stressed out American – it is beyond me how many people in our country have been brainwashed by this man.💙💙💙

My Thoughts

Hope, heart and healing. This was a short but sweet story about second chances and secrets. Mara is unexpectedly kicked out of her house by Her lying cheating husband. Having recently inherited a beach home in Cornwall from her mother that she had no previous knowledge of; she decides heading there is the best option. Unfortunately it is not the beautiful beach house she was anticipating, the home is in tremendous disrepair. Fortunately handsome handyman Brian lives next-door who is willing to step in. Meanwhile in the process of fixing up the house Mara find some old letters. Old letters that reveal many things Mara never knew about her mother before. I really liked Mara and absolutely wanted things to work out for her. This small town of Magpie was absolutely charming with so many quirky colorful residence. The family secrets were intriguing I was curious how that was going to resolve itself. The romance really was the weakest part of the story for me. I really was not all that fond of Brian, especially at first, and I also sometimes like to see women find their happily ever after on their own. But then I guess it wouldn’t be a romance, would it? A lovely escapist story perfect for these turbulent times.

This book in emojis 👩‍👦‍👦 🏚 🏖 🛠

*** Big thank you to Bookouture for my gifted copy of this book. All opinions are my own. ***

About the Book

The Cornish beach house creaked in the salty sea wind and, from the weathered wooden porch, Mara watched a lone magpie circle above. It was silly to think that her mother’s spirit was still with her, but Mara felt as if there was something keeping her here. A secret that needed to be told…

 

When Mara Hughes inherits her late mother’s tumbledown beach house overlooking the bright, sandy sweep of Magpie Cove, it couldn’t have come at a worse time. With her marriage on the rocks and her husband threatening to take the family home, the beach house – with all the bittersweet memories it holds – might be the thing that finally sends Mara’s world crashing down around her. She tells herself she’ll only spend a few days there: sell it and move on to rebuilding her life.

 

When Mara arrives, the house is in a worse state than she feared – holes in the bedroom ceiling, birds’ nests in the attic and the beautiful, wrap-around porch on the brink of collapse… but she loves it anyway. With all its history it feels like the last link to her late mother and, determined to do whatever it takes to keep it in the family, Mara strikes a deal with local handyman – and town heartthrob – Brian Oakley to save the crumbling cottage from ruin.

 

But when a box of unopened old letters arrives on her new doorstep – a bequest from her mother’s will – Mara’s resolve to save the beach house will be tested to the limit. Because Mara’s mother’s perfect childhood in Magpie Cove was forever spoiled by one haunting day in July, and the letters contain a secret about her family that Mara can scarcely believe to be true…

 

A story of secrets, family and forgiveness, this heartfelt read set in beautiful Cornwall is perfect for fans of Susanne O’Leary, Fern Britton and Rosanna Ley.

 

Author Bio: 

 

Kennedy Kerr is the author of A Spell of Murder, a witch themed cozy mystery, and The House at Magpie Cove (November 2020) and The Café at Magpie Cove (coming in 2021). She adores beaches, lochs and magical places, and loves writing about small communities, mysteries and family secrets.

Kennedy also loves cooking and baking all types of food, which is almost as much fun as eating it.

 

Author Social Media Links

 

FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/kennedykerrauthor/

 

TWITTER: https://twitter.com/KennedyKerr5