Posted in Blog Tour

The First Time We Met by Jo Lovett **Book Review** @rararesources

Happy Thursday!

Do you believe in love at first sight? Then do I have the book for you! And even if you don’t you’ll enjoy this lovely romantic story.☔️

My Thoughts

Do you believe in love at first sight? Jo Lovett will tug at your heart strings with this romantic story. Izzy and Sam first meet in December when Izzy is working as a waitress. There is an instant spark when these two meet. So why does Sam say no when Izzy asks him out? Well he has a good reason… it is his wedding day. Time passes: marriage, children, new jobs, new countries, and yet they cannot seem to forget. Over a decade has passed and Sam reaches out to Izzy ostensibly for help for his son. They begin an email correspondence, but an ocean, many yearsand relationships, separate these two. Will they be able to rekindle the spark?

Do you believe in “the one“? OK full confession- I do not necessarily believe in love at first sight or the one and yet I really enjoyed this story. Both Izzy and Sam were fabulous characters. I found them both so kind, genuine, and likable. Also found them both quite frustrating at times. I wasn’t always thrilled with some of the characters choices and didn’t like how fickle Izzy was throughout most of the book. Nevertheless, this was an engaging story that warmed my heart.

This book in emojis 🥄 🤰🏻 ☕️ 🎨 🐑 📩 ☔️

*** Big thank you to Bookouture for my gifted copy of this book. All opinions are my own. ***

About the Book

What if you met The One on his wedding day?

Izzy doesn’t believe in love at first sight, but when Sam walks into the cafe where she works one winter’s morning, she knows without a doubt that he’s The One. Too bad Sam’s getting married. Today.

Nearly a year later, Izzy still can’t stop thinking about Sam, the one that got away, but she knows it’s time to move on: he’s a married man and probably wouldn’t recognise her if he passed her on the street.

But Sam has never forgotten Izzy, the funny, gorgeous woman who asked him out on his wedding day. If the timing had only been better, he knows they could have had something wonderful.

When Izzy and Sam’s paths finally cross again, everything has changed. But with the Atlantic Ocean and decades of baggage between them, they are about to find out whether some obstacles are too big for even true love to overcome.

An unforgettable love story about what happens when the stars finally align. Fans of One Day in December, The Day We Met and Jojo Moyes will fall head over heels for The First Time We Met.

About the Author

Jo Lovett lives in London with her family.

She worked in Corporate Tax before taking a longer-than-expected career break to have more-than-expected children (five). She started writing romantic comedy when she realised that she was regularly begging her oldest son to let her do his English homework but she wasn’t actually that interested in haunted houses or Macbeth.

Jo was runner-up in the Good Housekeeping/ Orion First Novel Competition 2018 and shortlisted for the Comedy Women in Print Award 2019.

When she can escape from her laundry mountain and childcare, she enjoys reading, tennis and wine.

https://twitter.com/JoLovettWrites

Buy Links: